Bank Pool question

bigskyjake

you heard the man
Silver Member
When you're playing short rack and you crack it wide open 9-ball style, if you scratch on the break you don't owe one......right?
 
Everywhere I've played short or full rack banks, anytime you scratch, you owe a ball.

bigskyjake said:
When you're playing short rack and you crack it wide open 9-ball style, if you scratch on the break you don't owe one......right?
 
Yup, as Tom said. You start one in the hole if you scratch on the break!!
 
Yes, you do owe one.

It's like saying, if I scratch on the break in 9-ball, my opponent doesn't get ball-in-hand does he? Yes, he does. :p
 
bigskyjake said:
When you're playing short rack and you crack it wide open 9-ball style, if you scratch on the break you don't owe one......right?

Wrong! LOL

You do owe one. When you make your first bank, that ball is spotted at the end of your inning at the table.

Stones
 
bigskyjake said:
When you're playing short rack and you crack it wide open 9-ball style, if you scratch on the break you don't owe one......right?

Nice try but no sale. :)
 
What ive always wondered is.... what if you make 5 balls on the break and bank the other 4, what happens now? You still need to bank another ball, but the balls on the break cannot be spotted til after you shoot.
 
cleary said:
What ive always wondered is.... what if you make 5 balls on the break and bank the other 4, what happens now? You still need to bank another ball, but the balls on the break cannot be spotted til after you shoot.

All balls spot up now, five in a row on the spot. You keep shooting.

Same thing can happen in One Pocket near the end of the game. You make a ball and knock the last ball(s) in another pocket. It (they) spot(s) up, and you continue your turn.
 
bank pool

cleary said:
What ive always wondered is.... what if you make 5 balls on the break and bank the other 4, what happens now? You still need to bank another ball, but the balls on the break cannot be spotted til after you shoot.

You would have to make 4 balls then I beleive ALL 5 balls would be spotted and it is still your turn to bank the 5th ball. Please somebody correct me if I am wrong.
 
Ohhhhh, I got another short rack bankie question. Whilst playing 9-ball you have to contact the 1 ball first..... What about in short rack Banks
 
My guess would be.. that you can (if you want too) hit any ball in the rack first on the break. Since it's not a game of rotation, I don't think it matters. However I can't think of any situation in short rack where you wouldn't hit the one first, except by accident.

am I right on this guys?
 
ugotactionTX said:
My guess would be.. that you can (if you want too) hit any ball in the rack first on the break. Since it's not a game of rotation, I don't think it matters. However I can't think of any situation in short rack where you wouldn't hit the one first, except by accident.

am I right on this guys?

You do not have to hit the head ball in Banks or One Pocket.
 
You are correct in that hitting the lowest ball first is not required in short rack banks. Actually, there's a secret 9-ball one pocket break that shoots two rails into the back of the rack that makes a ball a high percentage of the time... :p
 
bigskyjake said:
Ohhhhh, I got another short rack bankie question. Whilst playing 9-ball you have to contact the 1 ball first..... What about in short rack Banks

It's not a rotation game. So, the answer is, "no." In fact, you don't really have to rack the lowest 9 balls.

Fred
 
Cornerman said:
It's not a rotation game. So, the answer is, "no." In fact, you don't really have to rack the lowest 9 balls.

Fred


My bad, I should have said head ball instead of 1-ball
 
bigskyjake said:
My bad, I should have said head ball instead of 1-ball

The proposed set of rules of short rack banks at OnePocket.Org would require hitting the head ball first on the break.

http://www.onepocket.org/BankPoolRules.htm

The set of rules proposed by Steve Booth at OnePocket.Org came from a culmination of input from his forum members which includes some of the most knowledgeable bank and one-pocket players of today. So, I'd say it's a pretty good ruleset to follow.

There's no such limitation on full rack, according to the proposed set of rules

Fred
 
bigskyjake said:
When you're playing short rack and you crack it wide open 9-ball style, if you scratch on the break you don't owe one......right?
I guess you could play that way if you both agreed to it before you started
but that isn't the status quo whenever you scratch or foul you have to pay the piper in other words you owe one. Philw
 
Back
Top