bank pool rules question

Here's the actual relevant text:

In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. ...

Yes, that certainly seems to cover it.

Dale
 
If by 'must go in clean' you are referring to the stipulation than the OB can not contact

any ball on the path to the pocket - that has nothing to do with incidental contact with cushions.



Again, you only need to indicate which pocket and how many rails to get there.



Dale



Dale,

You obviously play the game, which I don't. The only time I've ever seen banks live is the ring game at the DCC. So I of course defer to your knowledge of the game and its rules. But what is obvious to you as a player may not be obvious to those that don't play the game.

For example, in 8b or 14.1, calling "2 in the corner" and then making the 2 in the corner means I keep shooting, even if I bank it 2 rails instead of the one I intended, or kiss off a ball, or the CB comes back and makes the 2b I hung in the pocket on the missed bank. As I understand it, in banks all of those things means the shot is no good.

So for that reason, it is not obvious to the player unfamiliar with the game that contact with the rail on the way in does not matter and does not count as another rail in having to announce the number of rails. Clarification of the rule would help, IMO. After all, rules should be written so that someone familiar with pool generally knows the answer just from reading the rule.
 
I don't play enough bank pool, but my opinion is a one rail off the point of the side into corner on same side of table should not be a legal call or shot in bank pool. Think about it, it would come up a lot an ob is kinda close to a side rail, and the guy can just shoot it off the point, when it's kinda like straight into the corner if you know what I mean. That shots actually not that hard to make.

Now, if the bank goes one rail, then into the point and down into the corner on the same rail, I think that should be good myself if the guy called that. If he went three rails and off the point I think it should be good too. He's satisfied the bank portion of a bank shot and called everything. Shooting a ball off a point into the corner on that same rail isn't a bank. We see that shot all the time when a guys cuts a ball down the rail and catches the point after undercutting it and it goes. No way that's a good bank in bank pool.

Who knows what the real rule is pool rules are so messed up anyway a few drunk guys probably wrote them and everyone gets so bent outta shape whenever anybody proposes any meaningful changes.
 
Last edited:
Bank pool is a called pocket called rail plus which rail's and how many.
I will play any human bank pool that has to shoot all his banks 1 rail off the point!
Line is open...money no problem. This has to be a joke! BTW. The outside of the point is a rail, the inside of the point is pocket facing ( no rail ).
The shot Efren shot in the video is not a legal bank pool shot....no kisses, no combinations, no kick shots ( which was what Efren shot ).
If you're in the south, some players will tell you that you can kick 3 or more rails to make a legal bank. That is NOT in the rules of bank pool.....But you may have to payoff
when the guns come out.....
 
This shot only with the object ball banking.

This wouldn't count, as far as I know.

The shot that's a straight back but catches the side point on it's way to the caller pocket is covered in the One Pocket site, and would count.

Rule 7.5. https://www.onepocket.org/BankPoolRules.htm

I know they'r not "WPA official," but they should be.

And examining Rule 7.5, it sort of negates the video shot as well, but the wording needs to be more explicit.

Freddie
 
Last edited:
This thread needs diagrams I think everyone is misunderstanding everyone else's points/questions:)

If you're banking a straight back, hit it bad enough that the OB rubs the side pocket point on the way to the corner, it's a good bank as far as I know.

But playing efrens trick shot, by shooting the OB directly into a side pocket point, and it makes a 90 degree turn into the corner pocket, is not a bank.

There are 4 "cushions" on the table when it comes to bank pool, not 6.

That's the way I play it, I may be wrong...
 
Last edited:
This thread needs diagrams I think everyone is misunderstanding everyone else's points/questions:)

If you're banking a straight back, hit it bad enough that the OB rubs the side pocket point on the way to the corner, it's a good bank as far as I know.

But playing efrens trick shot, by shooting the OB directly into a side pocket point, and it makes a 90 degree turn into the corner pocket, is not a bank.

There are 4 "cushions" on the table when it comes to bank pool, not 6.

That's the way I play it, I may be wrong...
You're right.
 
This thread needs diagrams I think everyone is misunderstanding everyone else's points/questions:)

If you're banking a straight back, hit it bad enough that the OB rubs the side pocket point on the way to the corner, it's a good bank as far as I know.

But playing efrens trick shot, by shooting the OB directly into a side pocket point, and it makes a 90 degree turn into the corner pocket, is not a bank.

There are 4 "cushions" on the table when it comes to bank pool, not 6.

That's the way I play it, I may be wrong...



Is the objection because it's the side pocket?

Is it a legal shot to play the a bank of the corner point (say off the left corner point and into the right corner?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Dale,

You obviously play the game, which I don't. The only time I've ever seen banks live is the ring game at the DCC. So I of course defer to your knowledge of the game and its rules. But what is obvious to you as a player may not be obvious to those that don't play the game.

For example, in 8b or 14.1, calling "2 in the corner" and then making the 2 in the corner means I keep shooting, even if I bank it 2 rails instead of the one I intended, or kiss off a ball, or the CB comes back and makes the 2b I hung in the pocket on the missed bank. As I understand it, in banks all of those things means the shot is no good.

So for that reason, it is not obvious to the player unfamiliar with the game that contact with the rail on the way in does not matter and does not count as another rail in having to announce the number of rails. Clarification of the rule would help, IMO. After all, rules should be written so that someone familiar with pool generally knows the answer just from reading the rule.

.....................................................................................................................

"Clarification of the rule would help, IMO. After all,
rules should be written so that someone familiar with pool generally
knows the answer just from reading the rule."
============================================================

Congratulations, you have just become the new Patrick Johnson :).

The practical requirement for written rules should be that they are concise and unambiguous.

Imagine trying to cover every conceivable situation that someone, someday, somewhere MIGHT misunderstand.

The rule book would be 9,000 pages.

It is meant to be a rule book, not a training manual.

Dale
 
Last edited:
Back
Top