This has probably been addressed many times here, but searching for it returns so many non-related posts that I simply can't go through them all.
I have read a number of versions of BCA rules and safety play, for either 9 or 8 ball, is a bit confusing. The rules state that:
A legal object ball must be struck (OK, that's obvious)
In 8 ball, an "object" ball must either be pocketed or hit a rail. Does this mean an object ball from the player's group? I have seen posts and interpretations that indicate that "any" ball can hit a rail after the first legal contact; that "any" player's object ball can touch a rail or be pocketed; or that the cue ball can touch a rail after legal contact. Which is it?
In 9 ball some of the answers are more obvious as all non-cue balls may be pocketed or strike a rail after the object ball is struck first. Can the only ball to touch a rail be the cue ball?
TIA
I have read a number of versions of BCA rules and safety play, for either 9 or 8 ball, is a bit confusing. The rules state that:
A legal object ball must be struck (OK, that's obvious)
In 8 ball, an "object" ball must either be pocketed or hit a rail. Does this mean an object ball from the player's group? I have seen posts and interpretations that indicate that "any" ball can hit a rail after the first legal contact; that "any" player's object ball can touch a rail or be pocketed; or that the cue ball can touch a rail after legal contact. Which is it?
In 9 ball some of the answers are more obvious as all non-cue balls may be pocketed or strike a rail after the object ball is struck first. Can the only ball to touch a rail be the cue ball?
TIA