Bizarre situation / rules question

hasu

Registered
I was at a tournament today where a very strange situation occurred:

10-ball, BCA rules. Player 1 had ball-in-hand, and only the 10-ball was left on the table. As Player 1 was placing the cue ball, it fell into a pocket. The 10-ball was not disturbed. Player 2 called a foul. The TD was called over. Eventually, the TD ruled that the game would be re-played. Player 1 argued that there was no rule describing the situation as a foul, and therefore it was implicitly not a foul. The TD's rationale was that the situation isn't covered by the rules, hence their decision that the game should be replayed.

Thoughts?

It generated much discussion, and the opinion in the room (even among 600-700 fargos) was split regarding whether or not it's a foul.
 
It is in the rules

“When the cue ball is in hand, the shooter may place the cue ball anywhere on the playing
surface (see 8.1 Parts of the Table) and may continue to move the cue ball until he executes a
shot.”

If he didn’t execute a shot he still has BIH.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
If you say "playing surface", then I say it is a scratch. Or, some other stupid thing if I am willing to be seen as that guy.

In the end, the TD did what he thought was right for his tournament.
 
Management definitely screwed it up.
I saw a similar screw up by Management in a tournament where after the break the cue ball rested on the cushion. Director proclaimed, "play it as it lies." As It was only touching the cloth on the cushion. 🤷‍♂️ Just didn't know any better.
 
Management definitely screwed it up.
I saw a similar screw up by Management in a tournament where after the break the cue ball rested on the cushion. Director proclaimed, "play it as it lies." As It was only touching the cloth on the cushion. 🤷‍♂️ Just didn't know any better.
The cue ball was laying on top of the cushion?

WPA RULE 8.5

A ball that contacts the top of the rail is not considered to have been driven off the table if it returns to the playing surface or enters a pocket

I believe the playing surface is defined as the top of the cloth covered slate. Should be ball in hand.
 
Sounds to me like player 2 is a nit. Player 2 better not drop the cue ball retrieving it from the ball return because I would definitely call a foul on him (for being such a nit) since that is not covered in the rule book also.

No legal stroke was performed and no balls on the table were disturbed so no foul, end of story, this was someone trying to get a free game on the wire.
 
The cue ball was laying on top of the cushion?

WPA RULE 8.5

A ball that contacts the top of the rail is not considered to have been driven off the table if it returns to the playing surface or enters a pocket

I believe the playing surface is defined as the top of the cloth covered slate. Should be ball in hand.
It was the darndest thing any present had ever seen. In a bi annual race to 7, bar table 9 ball tournament held at the now no more White Spot in Fife, WA . Mid 1980's. So the cue ball had jumped onto the cloth portion of the rail without touching anything else. It was amusing and both involved players took it with good humor. 🤷‍♂️
Yes it should have been ball in hand.
 
I'm not going to fault the TD but do not think it is logical to call dropping the cue ball into a pocket a foul.

It's not in the rules but I think a foul occurs while the player is addressing the cue ball or after the cue ball is struck.

Is it a foul if I accidentally or intentionally drop the cue ball on the floor after I pick it up from the pool table?

Is a foul if if I accidentally or intentionally drop the cue ball on the playing surface?

How is that different from accidentally or intentionally drop the cue ball into a pocket?

I would like to know the name of the TD so I can avoid him.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top