Bizarre situation / rules question

I wouldn’t call a foul but what kind of dork drops a ball in hand cue ball in a pocket. One ball on the table and somehow a player places the cue ball so close to a pocket it falls in🙈Maybe it should be a foul for being stupid.
 
OFFICIAL RULES OF CUESPORTS INTERNATIONAL

1-38 Ball In Hand Placement (also see AR 1-7, Beginning of Game or Match)

General Discussion: With cue ball in hand, the freedom to place the ball anywhere on the table does not include placement of the ball for the purpose of measuring a gap between balls, between a ball and a cushion, or in an attempt to determine whether a ball can be contacted before another ball. The provisions of Rule 1-3-1-g apply to ball in hand placement, and a foul may occur if any particular use, placement or motion of the cue ball, while in hand, violates that rule. It is not necessarily a defense against a foul for a player with ball in hand to use the cue ball in such a manner, and then claim that they were considering shooting from a particular position and changed their mind. Whether a foul has occurred in such a situation is at the sole judgment of the referee.

Rule 1-38-3: If the referee picks up the cue ball to give it to a player for ball in hand and disturbs one or more balls when doing so, they must be restored by the referee.

1. Situation: Player A, with ball in hand, drops the cue ball into a pocket or knocks it into a pocket before executing a stroke.

Ruling: Player A still has ball in hand.
 
OFFICIAL RULES OF CUESPORTS INTERNATIONAL

1-38 Ball In Hand Placement (also see AR 1-7, Beginning of Game or Match)

General Discussion: With cue ball in hand, the freedom to place the ball anywhere on the table does not include placement of the ball for the purpose of measuring a gap between balls, between a ball and a cushion, or in an attempt to determine whether a ball can be contacted before another ball. The provisions of Rule 1-3-1-g apply to ball in hand placement, and a foul may occur if any particular use, placement or motion of the cue ball, while in hand, violates that rule. It is not necessarily a defense against a foul for a player with ball in hand to use the cue ball in such a manner, and then claim that they were considering shooting from a particular position and changed their mind. Whether a foul has occurred in such a situation is at the sole judgment of the referee.

Rule 1-38-3: If the referee picks up the cue ball to give it to a player for ball in hand and disturbs one or more balls when doing so, they must be restored by the referee.

1. Situation: Player A, with ball in hand, drops the cue ball into a pocket or knocks it into a pocket before executing a stroke.

Ruling: Player A still has ball in hand.

Woah, there is an official ruling on this situation! Thanks for finding this. I had trouble believing that the correct ruling could be anything else, but it's nice to have it spelled out by an official source.
 
Player 2 breaks and scratches. Player 1 has BIH. Player 1 sweeps all the balls except the 9-ball into a pocket using his arm. Then he places the CB next to the 9-ball and sinks the 9-ball. Legal?
You should not hit send after 10PM 😂
Raking the balls before the game is over is loss of game
And maybe a penalty for unsportsmanship behavior
 
Player 2 breaks and scratches. Player 1 has BIH. Player 1 sweeps all the balls except the 9-ball into a pocket using his arm. Then he places the CB next to the 9-ball and sinks the 9-ball. Legal?
This would be deemed Unsportsmanlike Conduct under the rules. The penalty is at the referee's discretion, up to and including loss of match.
 
I wouldn’t call a foul but what kind of dork drops a ball in hand cue ball in a pocket. One ball on the table and somehow a player places the cue ball so close to a pocket it falls in🙈Maybe it should be a foul for being stupid.
Classifying stupid would take everyone too long.

They will come up with a lot of excuses. Avoiding classifications in the ruling is helpful.
 
I was at a tournament today where a very strange situation occurred:

10-ball, BCA rules. Player 1 had ball-in-hand, and only the 10-ball was left on the table. As Player 1 was placing the cue ball, it fell into a pocket. The 10-ball was not disturbed. Player 2 called a foul. The TD was called over. Eventually, the TD ruled that the game would be re-played. Player 1 argued that there was no rule describing the situation as a foul, and therefore it was implicitly not a foul. The TD's rationale was that the situation isn't covered by the rules, hence their decision that the game should be replayed.

Thoughts?

It generated much discussion, and the opinion in the room (even among 600-700 fargos) was split regarding whether or not it's a foul.
And you wonder why people don't play.

Obviously not a foul unless he moved an object ball in the process.

There are no do overs in pool.
 
I don't think play has resumed until the cue ball is hit with leather. If he drops it on the floor, you can't yell "Foul, cue ball off the table."
This is the kind of common sense league players lack. They don't know what they don't know. Lot tp be learned in the old school rooms which are fading into the history books.
 
Back
Top