Concession foul?

Jason Robichaud

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Need quick link and help guys. We are playing 9 ball with no conceding or cost a game. Shooter plays 9 ball and pockets it. He then grabs balls out of pocket and places then on tables. Opponent then does same and cues ball scratches. Ruling here? Does opponent win game and shooter conceded by reaching first?
 
I would like the see the game voided....they are both wrong.
 
Need quick link and help guys. We are playing 9 ball with no conceding or cost a game. Shooter plays 9 ball and pockets it. He then grabs balls out of pocket and places then on tables. Opponent then does same and cues ball scratches. Ruling here? Does opponent win game and shooter conceded by reaching first?

Game is over when there is a concession or the cue ball stops rolling.

randyg
 
WTF? Always enforce the spirit of a rule, stop being an officious ass who went to law school for one quarter. Game was won, its over, next game please, rack 'em rookie. Are you saying that the cue ball had not quite stopped rolling, the losing player touched it and therefore concedes the next game too? Thats plain stupid to me. I would never call foul if my opponent sank the winning ball and touched the cue ball as it slowed to a stop in the middle of the table, since it was never going to scratch in a pocket...otherwise I would be a rules freak, a poor sport to be chided, shunned and banished to internet chat rooms!
 
WTF? Always enforce the spirit of a rule, stop being an officious ass who went to law school for one quarter. Game was won, its over, next game please, rack 'em rookie. Are you saying that the cue ball had not quite stopped rolling, the losing player touched it and therefore concedes the next game too? Thats plain stupid to me. I would never call foul if my opponent sank the winning ball and touched the cue ball as it slowed to a stop in the middle of the table, since it was never going to scratch in a pocket...otherwise I would be a rules freak, a poor sport to be chided, shunned and banished to internet chat rooms!

I think you should read the original post again, Shake.

They BOTH put balls on the table while the cue ball was still moving.
They were BOTH mistaken about the game being over 'cause the cue ball fell into a pocket.
That's why I think it should be a push.
 
If the players both pulled balls out of the pocket and neither impacted the path of the cueball then the game is still going and the scratch means the shooter scratched and incoming player has BIH with 9-ball on the spot.

They were just working ahead and if neither impacted the CB it wasn't a concession or a foul. Assuming you were playing Cueball falls only.

Neither player's intent was to concede the game.
 
Thanks for the replies everyone. I was watching a match and the two players got into the dispute. I was hoping for a link in the bca rules, but I couldn't find one. The ref made a horrible call giving the game to the person that scratched because opponent reached into the pocket and placed balls on table. I have played tons of events over the years, mostly local and a few pro events. I never seen a guy scratch on the 9 and win until today. Worse part is the tour committee did a vote and decided not to make them replay match or correct score and finish match from 6-6.
 
Well, this is an interesting situation. Obviously, the player scratched. There was a rule in play that concessions were not allowed and if you do it costs you a game. A case could be made that throwing balls on the table when the 9 ball went in constitutes a concession. The shooter's act of throwing balls on the table was a concession given that he scratched and would be giving the other player BIH on the 9 Ball. The opponent's throwing balls on the table was a concession seeing as the shooter had just sunk the 9 Ball.

In essence, both players conceded and should be penalized one game. But as to the point for the game itself, that was still up for grabs since the game wasn't over seeing as concessions were not allowed. The opponent should have been awarded BIH on the spotted 9 ball.

I think. More like a guess really. :D

What I'd like to know is what constitutes the penalty of "costing a game"? Would it be your opponent gets a game on the wire, or you lose one from your total? It could make a difference if the other player is on the hill when the incident occurs. It would effectively end the match right then and there.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the replies everyone. I was watching a match and the two players got into the dispute. I was hoping for a link in the bca rules, but I couldn't find one. The ref made a horrible call giving the game to the person that scratched because opponent reached into the pocket and placed balls on table. I have played tons of events over the years, mostly local and a few pro events. I never seen a guy scratch on the 9 and win until today. Worse part is the tour committee did a vote and decided not to make them replay match or correct score and finish match from 6-6.

That IS a terrible call.
 
Need quick link and help guys. We are playing 9 ball with no conceding or cost a game. Shooter plays 9 ball and pockets it. He then grabs balls out of pocket and places then on tables. Opponent then does same and cues ball scratches. Ruling here? Does opponent win game and shooter conceded by reaching first?

I don't get it. Why didn't the guy who made the 9 win?

Was the cue ball still rolling from the winning shot when it scratched?

We're they taking balls out to rac, or to take practice shots? Or do they both just want to touch balls?
 
I think you should read the original post again, Shake.

They BOTH put balls on the table while the cue ball was still moving.
They were BOTH mistaken about the game being over 'cause the cue ball fell into a pocket.
That's why I think it should be a push.

I read it quite a few times and was unable to find language indicating the cb was still rolling from the winning shot.
 
I read it quite a few times and was unable to find language indicating the cb was still rolling from the winning shot.
It says Opponent does the same and the cue balls scratches.
Need quick link and help guys. We are playing 9 ball with no conceding or cost a game. Shooter plays 9 ball and pockets it. He then grabs balls out of pocket and places then on tables. Opponent then does same and cues ball scratches. Ruling here? Does opponent win game and shooter conceded by reaching first?


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
 
I would think only the first player to grab the balls out of the pocket would be at fault. If conceding is against the rules, fine, but accepting a concession should not be. At that point the game is already over.
 
The CB never stopped rolling. 9 was a cut along short rail, CB went 2 rails up table into corner.

Lesson learned by person making the call.
 
It seems to me that once a player concedes and the other accepts, the game should be over. Even if the rules say, "No conceding". Especially since they both starting taking balls out of the pockets to acknowledge the concession. You can't force players to play. One player could just decide to pack up and forfeit the match and walk out, regardless of the rules.

I had a case in a State Tournament, where my opponent conceded the match thinking that I only had the 8 ball left to shoot. But in fact, I had one more ball before the 8 ball. I accepted the concession and shook his hand. After a minute or so, he realized that I still had one additional ball on the table and he "almost" tried to take back his concession. I just commented that it was an easy shot and leave for the 8 ball anyway....so he didn't push it. I had ran out the match up until that point also.
 
Guys, the whole concession rule is just there to keep from sharking your opponent or faking a concession...you make a big show of "Oh, this shot is SOOOOO easy....NOOOO way you'll miss....you GOT this one!", well then there's no reason for me to take the shot, is there? Simple as that.

It wasn't meant to be used for people making honest mistakes, though very stupid mistakes in this case. It wasn't meant to be used to force a concession because someone needs to replace their shaft (and yes, I've heard of people calling this..."You unscrewed your cue!!! Neener Neener Neeeeeeeener!").

Use your head. No harm done, so spot the 9, ball in hand. If the cue ball had been interfered with, by any player, I think you'd be forced to called unsportsmanlike behavior on the shooter since he's the one who started removing balls, and the opponent could reasonably be expected to believe the inning had ended.
 
Why cant players wait the 5 seconds until balls stop to do anything? especially the opponent.
 
Back
Top