Curiosity question - lathe alignment testing

kevoka

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have no experience building cues but am wondering how often do low production, or custom cue makers have to test, and/or re-calibrate their lathes and taper machines to ensure they are still within to their specifications?

Ron Padilla

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
your post hasn't been up long so you might get a few answers, but I will tell you what I know, as for testing you can do it as often as you want all there is to it is making sure that your tail stock and jaws line up correctly and that is done a few different way? you place a bar that is know to be straight and held between the tail stock and jaws that hold live centers and then checked with a gauge and have zero movement on the gauge.
Others may add more or say I am all wrong and give a different answer or one that ex[plains it differently, you can also find answers on utube!

Dave38

theemperorhasnoclotheson
Silver Member
I have no experience building cues but am wondering how often do low production, or custom cue makers have to test, and/or re-calibrate their lathes and taper machines to ensure they are still within to their specifications?

I check it on every pass, as I measure both ends and do the math each time. Maybe that's over doing it, but it's not a bad habit to check each time. Even with a very sturdy bench, depending on temp and humidity, things can change ever so slightly.
Dave

kevoka

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
your post hasn't been up long so you might get a few answers, but I will tell you what I know, as for testing you can do it as often as you want all there is to it is making sure that your tail stock and jaws line up correctly and that is done a few different way? you place a bar that is know to be straight and held between the tail stock and jaws that hold live centers and then checked with a gauge and have zero movement on the gauge.