Did Efren foul?

DJordan816

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Shot starts at 1:22:44 doesn’t look like the cue ball got back to the rail to me but neither Alex or the referee seem to say anything about a foul
 
I watched that match yesterday and noticed that shot. The cue ball did seem to move slightly away from the rail. I didn't think he caught the rail but the action of the cue ball indicates either he brushed the rail or the ball rolled off.

Speaking of that match notice how Pat Fleming handles the shot clock. If you have an extension you automatically get the extension. That's in contrast to what the Matchroom referee did to Van Boening at the U S Open when he called a shot clock violation despite Van Boening having an extension.

I've also seen Pat in the past allow the player to shot if he is down on the shot when the clock expires. That's a much more professional way to handle a shot clock.
 
It's a foul but hard to notice if you are sitting where Alex was seated & also hard to see if you're at the point of view of the referee from where he was standing. Because as alstl said the cueball did seem to look as if though it bounced off the rail because of that roll-off away from the rail. The cueball after hitting the object ball moved to very closely near the rail then suddenly rolled off away from the rail. This behavior will deceive anybody who is standing behind the camera (i.e. alex & the referee), it will look as if it bounced off the rail when in reality it didn't.

Efren shouldn't say anything about it even if he saw it. But who knows he's a little old here maybe he himself didn't see it. In the big scheme of things its ok, mistakes happen and who cares :D
 
I didn't think he caught the rail but the action of the cue ball indicates..........the ball rolled off.
It's a foul... The cueball after hitting the object ball moved to very closely near the rail then suddenly rolled off away from the rail.
I agree with the above. It was definitely a foul, but the cue ball was heading toward the rail at a very shallow angle and then veered away from the rail without contacting it. If you weren't paying attention close enough, or had the wrong viewing angle, it would give the impression of a legal hit since it reacted in a similar fashion.
 
Last edited:
Played at .25 speed it doesn't look to me like the cue ball got back to the cushion.
 
Only if the referee was right on top of that could he call the shot. Otherwise you can't call a foul there. He was MIA on that shot! ;)
 
Everyone there had no problem with the shot, including Alex, Im gonna say no...
 
Back
Top