Foul or not

Strokerz

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Playing 9-ball texas express rules player 1 jumps the 8ball hits the 1 ball leagal shot then hits the 3 ball with his jump cue moving it the 1 ball rolls to the spot where the 3ball was, Player 2 calls foul. Is how is this a foul if your playing cueball fouls only?
 
Strokerz said:
Playing 9-ball texas express rules player 1 jumps the 8ball hits the 1 ball leagal shot then hits the 3 ball with his jump cue moving it the 1 ball rolls to the spot where the 3ball was, Player 2 calls foul. Is how is this a foul if your playing cueball fouls only?
Unfortunately, there is no provision for this in Texas Express. However, if the incoming player believes it is a foul, he can call it and have the tournament director come over to verify. (Rule 1).

In most other rules:when playing cue ball fouls only -> if the cue ball travels across where the moved ball was, it is a foul.

Texas Express rules are no longer available on a live web link, but you can get archived versions.

Click here for the Texas Express Rules.
and
Click here for 9-ball rules.
-td
 
Last edited:
I believe in Texas Express rules and others that it is a foul if the cue ball path crosses where the other object ball was or collides with the ball that was moved.

Maybe someone will give us an exact defination.
 
How about this.... what happens if you break, and while the balls are moving your cue hits the an object ball?.. and what if that object ball goes in the hole because of that?.... what happens?
Ponder that for a while :)
 
TD873 is probably correct about Texas Express rules. However it's extremly difficult to call this foul and win unless there is a referee watching.
Funny how there are so many explanations as to where the balls were after the fact. Most won't concede this foul.
 
I don't think this situation is covered by Texas Express, but I'm pretty sure under BCA rules, it is a foul of your cue touches any object ball before, during, or after a jump/masse shot, regardless of whether you're playing cue-ball-fouls or not and whether the fouled ball crosses the path of a ball in play or not.

Most people I play with default to BCA when the current set of rules don't cover the situation. If this was a tournament, it should be up to the TD.
 
This happend in a 10 ahead match for 2k. I didn't see it but the cue balls path was not affected if it was that is a foul. I was not involved in any way so I did not make a ruling. Most players did agree in BCA rules it would be a foul but pro express rules do not cover this. Any other TD's wanna weigh in on this?
 
I'd rule it a foul.

AZE, your example would be ruled a foul by me also.

LWW
 
Used to be rules

Going back to the archives of rules:

If an object is moved accidently, by your cue, on a shot, and it rolls more than 6 inches, it was ruled a foul. If less than 6 inches, your opponent had the option of putting it back.

Now, same situation, if accidently moving an object ball, and it also changes the position or path of other object balls, or the cue ball, it is ruled a foul.

The current rules eliminated the 6 inch rule, and your opponent has the option to put it back or leave it there, providing it did not change positon or path of other object balls, or the cue ball. So basically, if your accident involves 2 or more balls, it is a foul, if just one, your opponent has the option to put it back or leave it.
 
Texas Express was very clear on this matter and covered it completely.

FOUL by Impedment.....randyg
 
Back
Top