Getting back into the game

yakes

Registered
I am getting back into the game after 20 years.

To make a long story short, I recently went on vacation with my family and the home we stayed in had a pool table. Both of my children loved the game and I have been "bitten" by the pool bug again.

I just bought a new 9' table and it will be delivered soon.

I used to play 2 to 3 times per week and considered myself above average. I was completely self taught.

After watching some instructional videos online I realized there is a lot I have done wrong in the past.

My main thought process now is that I would like to develop a good game. Since I have not played for a long time, I don't necessarily have any bad or good habits.

I was thinking of buying some instructional DVD's and playing with those for a few month's and then take a lesson.

My question is : Should I go forward with that plan or should I not do anything before taking a lesson?

Also, I live about an hour east of Memphis and 1.5 hours west of Nashville and would like to have a recommendation for an instructor.

Thanks in advance for any input,

Dave

oldplayer

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member