Gluing the seams?

jtompilot

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I was at Paradise billiards today when a table mechanic came in to fix the popped slates on a Diamond Professional, Red Label. I mentioned that if you glue the seams they won’t pop. Then I asked him if he glues the slates and he just said “don’t worry, I’m here”.🤣 I have never seen anyone glue the seams.

How many mechanics glue the seams?

boogieman

It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that ping.
I was at Paradise billiards today when a table mechanic came in to fix the popped slates on a Diamond Professional, Red Label. I mentioned that if you glue the seams they won’t pop. Then I asked him if he glues the slates and he just said “don’t worry, I’m here”.🤣 I have never seen anyone glue the seams.

How many mechanics glue the seams?
Only the good ones. But it's not really necessary. If I got paid to come back and fix stuff I'd hope no one ever glued a seam.

I'm not a mechanic but that's my 2 cents worth.

Sheldon

dontneednostinkintitle
Silver Member
Only the good ones. But it's not really necessary. If I got paid to come back and fix stuff I'd hope no one ever glued a seam.
If it's done right and just 3-4 small spots are glued with paper between the slates, you just need to run a razor knife down the seam and they'll come apart easily. Scrape the glue and paper off, and you're good to go.
Gluing the seams does make a big difference, especially if you have to manipulate the slates a bit to get the seams perfectly even all the way across.
It also makes minor adjustments after assembly a lot less nerve wracking, since you don't have to worry about the seams popping.

Last edited:

jtompilot

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If it's done right and just 3-4 small spots are glued with paper between the slates, you just need to run a razor knife down the seam and they'll come apart easily. Scrape the glue and paper off, and you're good to go.