Last night while playing in a handicap tourney the following incident occurred which led to a rather lengthy discussion. It's a ball spot tourney.
A high ranked player (11) was playing an (8) and giving him the call 6 out. The (11) kicked at a ball and missed but knocked in the 7 ball.
Here's the argument ....some people (me included) said that the 7 ball should be spotted and the reason was that the (11) should not benefit from fouling by keeping his opponent's spot ball off the table.
Some people said they disagreed that any ball made on a foul should stay down...
I'll let you know what the tournament director determined ...after you guys chime in ...
So, has anyone run into this before..what should the rule be?!?
Thanks in advance guys...
A high ranked player (11) was playing an (8) and giving him the call 6 out. The (11) kicked at a ball and missed but knocked in the 7 ball.
Here's the argument ....some people (me included) said that the 7 ball should be spotted and the reason was that the (11) should not benefit from fouling by keeping his opponent's spot ball off the table.
Some people said they disagreed that any ball made on a foul should stay down...
I'll let you know what the tournament director determined ...after you guys chime in ...
So, has anyone run into this before..what should the rule be?!?
Thanks in advance guys...