How would you handled this FOUL Situation in a Game of 9 Ball?

CocoboloCowboy

Cowboys are my hero's
Silver Member
So LAST NIGHT I am playing in a tournament, NINE Ball, and it is 1-1, tis Game Three, I miss the 9, the other guy sinks, it appear the Q Ball is on a Route to SCRATCH, but the other guy stops it short of the post, and walks to the Head of the Table to Break position to Break again.

As we are playing Winner Breaks, Looser Racks. I advise him of the Foul he has commits, and say if you do this again on the ?9? we will replay the GAME. P{er the rules.

What would you do? What would you have done.
 
Nevermind replaying the game, he loses that game. If the CB might scratch, and he stops it, that's a ball-in-hand foul by some rules, and loss of game by other rules. In your case, since it was after the 9 went down, ball-in-hand foul and loss of game both result in loss of game.

-Andrew
 
Andrew you would have made him pay for the mistake, by Spoting the 9, and I would have had Ball IN HAND.

Thanks for the input.
 
Easy

CocoboloCowboy said:
So LAST NIGHT I am playing in a tournament, NINE Ball, and it is 1-1, tis Game Three, I miss the 9, the other guy sinks, it appear the Q Ball is on a Route to SCRATCH, but the other guy stops it short of the post, and walks to the Head of the Table to Break position to Break again.

As we are playing Winner Breaks, Looser Racks. I advise him of the Foul he has commits, and say if you do this again on the ?9? we will replay the GAME. P{er the rules.

What would you do? What would you have done.
IT IS BALL IN HAND FOUL---YOUR SHOT,AND GOOD LUCK!!!:boring2: :boring2: :boring2: :boring2: :boring2:
 
The inning isn't over until everything on the table comes to a complete stop.

I would have informed him of his infraction, re-spot the 9-ball and wait for him to hand me the cue ball.
 
I would have said "uh, that cueball looked to be headed for a scratch", and then looked around for a witness. That puts the ball in his court, and then it's on him to either do the right thing or not. If the cueball was headed anywhere within a diamond of the hole, then he certainly should have let it get it's roll out. If there are witnesses, then it should be a pretty straightforward case of doing whatever the rules say to do (probably spot the 9 and you have BIH). If there are no witnesses, though, and he doesn't want to do anything about it, then I would just shrug my shoulders and go on; there's not much you can do when it's your word against his except make a scene, which is fine if you're into that sort of thing.

I have been in similar situations many times, though, and I always feel I have the advantage when I'm the only player in the game with a clear conscience. Call me naive, but I still believe those kinds of things catch up with a person eventually. If you're lucky, it catches up with them in the same set. Sweet, sweet justice. :wink:

Good rolls,
Aaron
 
Well I was in a CHARITABLE MOOD last night so like I said I WArned the guy do it again, and I would call a Ball in Hand, and Sport the "9". After the fact I realize I should have CALL THE FOUL, and told him I have Ball in Hand, and I will Spot the NINE. big mistake on my part.
seesaw.gif
 
What are you doing missing the 9 in the first place? Jeez! :D

Next time, I'd just make that 9 and not worry about what he is doing (from his chair).
 
What I would have done

I would have had him spot the nine and taken BIH, and I would have warned him that if he does it again, loss of game
 
2 questions:

1) Why make the decision yourself? Just go to the Tournament Director and let him/her make the call.

2) If for any reason you were near the table when he picked up the cueball, and had taken a ball or touched the playing surface in any way, it could be interpreted as a conceded game and I would think he had the right to pick up the cueball even if it would fall into the pocket. When I am playing someone and get to the 9 and they walk toward the table, I will hesitate. If they touch the table, balls, etc. I pick up the cueball. They have conceded.

If #2 did not occur, I would have spotted the ball and waited for him to give me BIH and contacted the TD.
 
How to handle fouls

Next time just call him a cheater, pull out your six gun and blow a hole in his head.
Oh Wait, this is not the old west, is it? Too Bad.
 
Andrew Manning said:
Nevermind replaying the game, he loses that game. If the CB might scratch, and he stops it, that's a ball-in-hand foul by some rules, and loss of game by other rules. In your case, since it was after the 9 went down, ball-in-hand foul and loss of game both result in loss of game.

-Andrew

i have to agree with andrew here
 
stuckart said:
What are you doing missing the 9 in the first place? Jeez! :D

Next time, I'd just make that 9 and not worry about what he is doing (from his chair).

Well sometimes I miss, just like Babe Ruth the Home Run King,who was remberbered for ALL those home run, struck out many times at bat.:cool:

Another REASON I do not Gamble on my Pool Game, I don't break, and run every rack.:sorry: Wish I did but no one is perfect.
 
Back
Top