If a ball goes in and comes back out is it a legal shot?

...is it a legal shot?
Just a comment about what "legal" means (we just had a similar conversation in another thread):

The shot is legal (stands as is), but the ball was not legally pocketed (so it stays up).

pj <- picking nits so you don't have to
chgo
 
Very similar to what I am talking about but it is not the same one I am referring to. I think it was Efren and Tony Crosby, and it happened to both of them back to back. I could have the order they shot in wrong, or some other minor details but I am just about certain it happened to both players back to back on the same ball. I hope somebody knows where to find it, I would like to see it again.

It was Reyes vs. Kaplan (I myself thought for sure it was Reyes - Babica, but I was mistaken). Here is the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bu43kJPZr6E

I've seen balls come out of the pocket a couple of more times on Brunswick Metro tables, and I have been told that there may have been a flaw in the pocket design of that table. In the other thread they blamed the pocket cam. In all the time I've been playing, coming up on 15 years now, I've never had this experience, not even once, on a Gold Crown unless the pocket was actually full and I forgot to clear it. I might have been lucky all this time though, I don't know.
 
Last edited:
If the cue ball goes in and comes back out is it a scratch?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
If the cue ball goes in and comes back out is it a scratch?
Shouldn't be... but it seems kinda ambiguous:

http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play#8.3

8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket. If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
It doesn't say what happens when the CB rebounds from an empty pocket.

pj
chgo
 
Last edited:
It was Reyes vs. Kaplan (I myself thought for sure it was Reyes - Babica, but I was mistaken). Here is the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bu43kJPZr6E

That would appear to be it, thanks. I added the time stamp to the link to save someone a bit of time getting to the correct spot in the video. Both players look none too happy when it happens to them, especially Efren. Might be the most upset reaction I've seen from him.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bu43kJPZr6E#t=3m30s
 
Back
Top