Is it possible?

Whats wrong with a little double kiss off the point???

no foul for sure.

I wouldn't have jacked up to shoot it this way--- just a firm center ball shot.

The ball is definately makeable as diagrammed.

Dudley


CueTable Help


I had ruled out the possibility of the 7 hitting the foot rail first on a good hit, but you are right, a double-kiss could have caused that. Good catch!

Aaron
 

CueTable Help


I guess he was trying to say he hit the 3 first, but to hit the 3 first when shooting straight at it would make the 3 miss the pocket. Rail first and you scratch.
I am confused: Is the pic above what he did? Shoot straight into the 7?

MAybe he (had a brain fart and) thought he was playing 8b?
 
The 7 was probably a little bit closer. I remember thinking it would need some side spin off the long rail to get in deep enough to touch the 3.

Either way, my opponent didn't go rail first. Case closed!

More evidence for the point above- shot was straight into the 7...

Confustigated.
 
deebee53...With the shot set up the way you diagrammed it, imo, it is not only possible, but pretty makeable (with a legal hit), going to the long rail first, with left english and draw. If the other OB is closer to the 3, then maybe not. You definitely do not have to automatically scratch on this shot.

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com
I like Scotts solution. A little draw off the long rail. IMO its more controllable than a half masse all the way down the table.
 
I like Scotts solution. A little draw off the long rail. IMO its more controllable than a half masse all the way down the table.

Yeah, if you can get in there, the kick off of the long rail is definitely more controllable. I was suggesting the curve shot because it carried built in position for the 4-ball (using the 7 as a stopper), and I feel like if I'm going to try to pocket the 3-ball I want to do it in a way that gives me the best chance of getting all the way out. But the 4-ball has moved around a bit throughout the progression of the diagrams, so...

Aaron
 
From the diagram, if the 7 went into the short rail where the 3, 7 are, it would be 99% a bad hit. If it hit somewhere near the opposite pocket, it may have been clipped on the way out, it it hit near the pocket where the 3 was, no hit.

Should be easy to see what was moving first though from this hit unless he went rail first.
 
If the 7 ball caroms down, good hit. If it caroms up, you can be sure it was a bad hit. Just be sure to mention that before he shoots :smile:
 
This shot came up last night. Is it possible to make the 3 ball (playing 9 ball) without scratching?



CueTable Help




My opponent (who is a SL6, btw) jacked up his cue to the point where I thought he was trying some type of jump shot. The cue ball hopped maybe a 1/2 off the table. The 3 went in and the 7 went to the bottom rail and came back up table. Cue ball pretty much stayed near the pocket.

I called bad hit and he gave me ball in hand. As I'm setting up my shot he was muttering to his team how he didn't know how it couldn't be a GOOD hit. Haha. I can't figure out how to get a good hit without scratching, with or without the jump stroke.:grin:

You could make that shot from both sides.Coming from the left side a little curve,coming from the right side ,try to hit it thin enough to get a double kiss.If you make the 3 there's noway you can scratch at least not in that pocket.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top