Is This a Foul?

Rubyron

R.I.P. Smorgass Bored
Silver Member
Or a double hit?

Object ball close to rail but not frozen. Like this: lO

Object ball and cue ball perpendicular to rail but not frozen. Like this: lOO

Lay cue on table and slide up underneath cue ball. Like this: lOO---------:::::::

Lift up cue so it just touches the cue ball sending the object ball into the rail for a safety.

Is this any good? I hope this make sense. :scratchhead:
 
a video would be better because it can be a good shot, it also can be a foul, it depends, with viewing the execution of the shot it will be more obvious.
 
I personally don't think it's a foul, I'm interested myself in finding out. John Schmidt did this in a 1pkt match I believe, it was recorded on DVD. I saw it so long ago I don't remember, but I think it was OK.
 
Foul

Or a double hit?

Object ball close to rail but not frozen. Like this: lO

Object ball and cue ball perpendicular to rail but not frozen. Like this: lOO

Lay cue on table and slide up underneath cue ball. Like this: lOO---------:::::::

Lift up cue so it just touches the cue ball sending the object ball into the rail for a safety.

Is this any good? I hope this make sense. :scratchhead:

I saw this shot played in a tournament..it was ruled a foul.
I totally agree with this ruling.
Any shot should be played in a conventional manner.
Otherwise you're opening Pandora's box and making the game a joke...
..what next?..a cue on rollers with brakes and a GPS?

About a 100 years ago, in English billiards, a player had the cue ball
almost froze to both object balls while playing nursery caroms.
He pulled out a pen with a leather tip and made the carom.
The ref called a foul.
After this a minimum length of cue was written into the rules.
 
This used to be a method for not pushing the cue ball or double hitting the cueball. As I recall, like others have mentioned, it is no longer considered a legal shot. even though the tip is the only thing that makes contact with the cue ball.

Of course, some rules vary between leagues, gambling and of course "house rules". At our pool room, you can hop up on the pool table shoot a shot with no feet on the floor.:embarrassed2:

JoeyA
 
it's legal in the APA. I've seen it done plenty of times...

You can do just about anything in APA and will consider as legal. When the CB and OB are so close, but not frozen, and even if the shooter follows through the entire shot and bring the CB back to other side of the table, APA doesn't call that a foul. :confused:

And worse, his teammates go "wow, what a shot!"...
 
I think it was not necessarily a foul in the past depending on local rules because it was not addressed in the world standard rules.

At some point I believe the world standard rules were revised to require a "normal forward stroke" or some such language which made this shot illegal.

I am remembering this from a thread about the same thing a few years ago and I think it was Bob Jewett that clarified the new ruling.
 
I have seen this done before and i believe the rule is the cue has to be moving forward...not sure though...
 
I have seen this done before and i believe the rule is the cue has to be moving forward...not sure though...

Yep, see Dr. Dave's website for the WPA rules:

http://billiards.colostate.edu/resources/index.html#drills

Go to the Rules section at the very bottom of the page. See Pool Referee Quiz answer sheet for question #59. "Illegal stroke (tip lifted up, not stroked into the ball)."

-------------------------------------

Note: I have a slow land-line so I can't verify the above. I downloaded the quiz a while back (took hours) and took it and believe the above is correct.
 
Back
Top