AZE said:
It is absolutely not a foul if the tip strikes the CB in this fashion. The CB is being hit with the tip, in a forward motion, which is legal.
Only a foul if the player somehow mis-hits it (ie; striking it with ferule, double hitting cb, etc).
Have seen it tons in gambling (done it myself) and have seen it in tournaments as well.
Actually, as defined by the OP, the shot is absolutely a foul.
"the opponent puts his tip right under the cueball and lifts up to hit it. Apposed to actually stroking he acutally just lifts tip up into cueball. Is this a foul?"
"Up does not mean "forward" it means "up."
Because the ball is round, the tip, when placed near the table can actually move backward and still contact the CB causing it to move forward.
If the player uses a fulcrum method...i.e. just pushing down with the butt hand thereby forcing the tip to rise...like a see saw, then the tip is absolutely moving backward relative to the vertical plane of the original tip position.
For that reason, such a shot will always be called a foul by a knowledgable referee IMHO.
If, instead, the shooter actually lifts the cue with both hands AND causes it to move noticeably forward...AND touches the CB with the tip only...which is VERY difficult to do, then I suppose the shot would be legal.
But to move the cue forward in a way that the ref can SEE it move forward is problematic at best and risks a foul call even if, under stop motion photography, the player might be able to demonstrate forward motion.
Since there is a zero risk way to shoot such a shot legally, it is highly ill-advised to attempt the shot in question. Plus is looks silly! (-:
Regards,
Jim