BCA General Rules of Pocket Billiards, rule 3.19 Legal Shot states: Unless otherwise stated in a specific game rule (and there is NO specific rule in 8-ball), a player must cause the cue ball to contact a legal object ball and then: (a) Pocket a numbered ball, or;
(b) Cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a cushion or any part of the rail. Failure to meet these requirements is a foul.
In the Official APA 8-Ball Game Rules Booklet page 7 (under the title "These Are The Only Fouls Resulting In Ball-In-Hand"), rule C states: Failure to hit a rail after contact. A sentence that should answer many questions is: "Any ball (including the cue ball) must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact". A pocketed ball counts as a rail.
Above are the rules straight out of the books. Here's what happened to me in league the other night. My opponent and I were both down to one ball apiece. It is his shot. His ball is hanging dead center in a corner pocket on the head-end of the table. My ball is frozen to his about an inch off the point. The 8-ball is on the same end of the table on the first diamond both on the side rail and head rail. He has no way to hit his ball. He picks up the cue ball and hands it to me, giving me ball in hand. He wants ME to hit my ball and knock his ball in thus giving him a simple shot on the eight. I thought about lining up and trying to use spin to make both balls, but I came up with a better solution. I took ball-in-hand, set it down between the head rail and the 8-ball and proceeded to knock the eight all the way down to the middle of the foot rail, giving him ball in hand. He looked at his options for a few seconds and again picked up the cue ball giving me ball-in-hand once again, figuring I couldn't improve my lot over my last shot. So I took the cue ball, set it right next to the head rail and tapped my ball, making his, and putting the cue ball on the long rail a full seven feet from the eight ball with the eight in the middle and almost touching the foot rail.
Of course he cried foul and wanted ball-in-hand for an easy shot on the eight. I told him about what the above stated rule says on the matter and pulled out the APA rulebook and showed him the rule. He relented and took a very difficult shot on the eight, missed and allowed me to go out. Now, in y'alls opinion of the meaning of the rules, was I right or was I wrong? It nowhere specifies that the pocketed ball must be one of YOUR balls, just that a numbered ball (BCA) or a pocketed ball (APA) must be made to be a "legal" shot. Opinions???
Maniac
(b) Cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a cushion or any part of the rail. Failure to meet these requirements is a foul.
In the Official APA 8-Ball Game Rules Booklet page 7 (under the title "These Are The Only Fouls Resulting In Ball-In-Hand"), rule C states: Failure to hit a rail after contact. A sentence that should answer many questions is: "Any ball (including the cue ball) must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact". A pocketed ball counts as a rail.
Above are the rules straight out of the books. Here's what happened to me in league the other night. My opponent and I were both down to one ball apiece. It is his shot. His ball is hanging dead center in a corner pocket on the head-end of the table. My ball is frozen to his about an inch off the point. The 8-ball is on the same end of the table on the first diamond both on the side rail and head rail. He has no way to hit his ball. He picks up the cue ball and hands it to me, giving me ball in hand. He wants ME to hit my ball and knock his ball in thus giving him a simple shot on the eight. I thought about lining up and trying to use spin to make both balls, but I came up with a better solution. I took ball-in-hand, set it down between the head rail and the 8-ball and proceeded to knock the eight all the way down to the middle of the foot rail, giving him ball in hand. He looked at his options for a few seconds and again picked up the cue ball giving me ball-in-hand once again, figuring I couldn't improve my lot over my last shot. So I took the cue ball, set it right next to the head rail and tapped my ball, making his, and putting the cue ball on the long rail a full seven feet from the eight ball with the eight in the middle and almost touching the foot rail.
Of course he cried foul and wanted ball-in-hand for an easy shot on the eight. I told him about what the above stated rule says on the matter and pulled out the APA rulebook and showed him the rule. He relented and took a very difficult shot on the eight, missed and allowed me to go out. Now, in y'alls opinion of the meaning of the rules, was I right or was I wrong? It nowhere specifies that the pocketed ball must be one of YOUR balls, just that a numbered ball (BCA) or a pocketed ball (APA) must be made to be a "legal" shot. Opinions???
Maniac