Miscue = Foul and Ball in hand for opponent?

Safety

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Texas Express 9-Ball rule #6.10 says:

Miscue: A Miscue is a foul (on any shot) if any part of the cue stick other than the chalked tip comes into contact with the cue ball. If determined to be a foul, opponent receives cue ball-in-hand

When I play with my friends for fun and a miscue happens but the lowest ball is still hit first with a ball contacting the rail afterwords, we continue playing without calling a foul.

Do you take ball-in-hand when playing with friends for fun? Do you take ball-in-hand when gambling? Do you have any interesting stories about it?
 
Did you notice that it says "if any part of the cue stick other than the chalked tip comes into contact with the cue ball"? How many miscues have you seen where that clearly happens?

It actually happens on many miscues, but it's just about impossible to tell which ones. That's why this rule is almost never used.

pj
chgo
 
FYI, I have pertinent discussion and several good video links on this topic here:


Check them out.

I think only intentional and blatantly obvious "secondary contact" should be considered a foul.

Regards,
Dave

Safety said:
Texas Express 9-Ball rule #6.10 says:

Miscue: A Miscue is a foul (on any shot) if any part of the cue stick other than the chalked tip comes into contact with the cue ball. If determined to be a foul, opponent receives cue ball-in-hand

When I play with my friends for fun and a miscue happens but the lowest ball is still hit first with a ball contacting the rail afterwords, we continue playing without calling a foul.

Do you take ball-in-hand when playing with friends for fun? Do you take ball-in-hand when gambling? Do you have any interesting stories about it?
 
dr_dave said:
FYI, I have pertinent discussion and several good video links on this topic here:


Check them out.

I think only intentional and blatantly obvious "secondary contact" should be considered a foul.

Regards,
Dave
Right you are Dave. Miscues happen due to poor strokes, bad tips and are almost always unintentional and are not considered a foul, unless it causes a bad hit. One example of an intentional miscue is to scoop the cueball.
 
A simple miscue is never called a foul because it is physically impossible that the cueball makes contact with the ferrule or even the shaft if you miscue on a draw shot.
That's what we were told when we made our referee test
Only clearly visible miscues are called a foul, e.g. when playing extreme english or a double hit
 
Big C said:
Right you are Dave. Miscues happen due to poor strokes, bad tips and are almost always unintentional and are not considered a foul, unless it causes a bad hit. One example of an intentional miscue is to scoop the cueball.
... although, an illegal "scoop" jump shot isn't always a miscue. For more info, see:


Regards,
Dave
 
Patrick Johnson said:
Did you notice that it says "if any part of the cue stick other than the chalked tip comes into contact with the cue ball"? How many miscues have you seen where that clearly happens?

It actually happens on many miscues, but it's just about impossible to tell which ones. That's why this rule is almost never used.

pj
chgo
On a slow roll high ball hit and a miscue, I think it's a foul.
I called an opponent one time on it b/c it was so obvious his ferrule hit the cueball and cueball changed direction.
He agreed it was a foul.
 
I was watching a friend shooting one time. He was attempting to use extreme high english...when he struck the cue ball, the cue followed through but the cue ball basically got caught under the shart. My friend just held the shot for a few seconds with the cueball trapped about 8" up the shaft and we all busted out laughing. Of course he gave up BIH, but everybody got a good laugh.

Funny thing, he tried after the match to repeat that situation and never did it again.

L8R...Ken
 
SKUNKBOY said:
I was watching a friend shooting one time. He was attempting to use extreme high english...when he struck the cue ball, the cue followed through but the cue ball basically got caught under the shart. My friend just held the shot for a few seconds with the cueball trapped about 8" up the shaft and we all busted out laughing. Of course he gave up BIH, but everybody got a good laugh.

Funny thing, he tried after the match to repeat that situation and never did it again.

L8R...Ken

I do that a lot. The trick is to lower the butt of your cue so that your cue is actually at a negative angle...not that you would ever want to do something like that.

unintentional miscue + good hit = no foul
unintentional miscue + bad hit = foul
intentional miscue = foul
 
I think it is only a foul in cases where something other then the tip of the cue comes in contact with the cue ball and a ball gets a rail after contact. I suppose a guy could argue that a scoop shot is an unintentional miscue but it is typically used to jump an opponents ball so if some one uses the argument that they were trying a draw shot and miscued You can just ask them how they were planning on getting around the ball they scooped over by using draw. Pool should be considered as an honorable game. We all usually know when we foul. I hate it when I see guys sacrifice their integrity over a $1 pool game I suppose it gives some insight to their character.
 
I think it is only a foul in cases where something other then the tip of the cue comes in contact with the cue ball and a ball gets a rail after contact.

Why would hitting a rail have anything to do with it?

pj
chgo
 
It is a foul if you don't drive a ball to a rail after contact with the cue ball I added that trying to say that a miscue is not a foul providing that everything else, such as driving a ball to a rail requirements are met. I did a poor job grammatically. I think that if you hit the cue ball with the leather tip of the cue it is not foul unless it has been specifically noted as such "scooping" for example. If someone intentionally miscues to roll a ball an inch or so down table, then this is a foul not because of the miscue but because other shot requirements were not met.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top