MISCUES...Should they be a foul???

Lots about these Miscues...

I want to thank all of you for your input here on this thread.

Looks like we have many types of situations with miscues..

Partial and full on miscues... intentional and unintentional miscues...

Some Miscues are with double hitting of just the tip...others involve the ferrul and even others involve contact even from the shaft....

There was even some sportsmanship ideas that came forward...

I like the one poster who stated...that if a Miscue of some sort happens..then the opponent will have the option of taking over the table or giving it back to the shooter who did something a little funny with a questionable stroke..."miscue"...(even if they did contact their intended ball and that ball did go in or get a rail)

Thanks for your continued input..

Mr. J.
 
Well, yeah, you didn't make a legal break, that's why it's a foul. Same as if you miscue and don't hit the lowest numbered ball on the table, it's a foul, but not because of the miscue. What we're talking about here is when, for example, someone is shooting the one ball, miscues, but still makes contact with the lowest numbered ball and gets a rail. Should the miscue be a foul?
MULLY

I would say that contact with at least one ball in the rack needs to take place before it is considered a break shot.

Miscues should not be considered as a foul.
Playing a safety when you have the ball in hand should be a foul.
 
but that's just good strategy . . .

A better strategy would be to pocket the balls when you can and win.

I know ... there are the "pro" players that look ahead 5 balls or more and if they see a problem they "duck and hide" and hope the other guy solves the problem for them.
The three foul rule is the worst rule ever made for pool.

IMHO ... miscues should never be a foul even on the break shot.
It is punishment enough to give up the table like that.
As for miscues on the break shot ...
I think it is a sign of sportsmanship to let your opponent try again if he miscued on the break and did not hit a racked ball.
Even if he did hit a racked ball, I would offer to re-rack and let him break again.
I try to play like a gentleman not like a hungry shark.
 
What!!

Something to think about and discuss here. I have miscued many times over the years and most likely all of us have here and there...

That unmistakable "CLINK, CHINK, TINK" Sound that happens...

I believe that the Ferrul has just made contact with the Cue ball and therefore a double hit has occured...

You many times do contact your intended ball and it either goes in or gets to a rail.

However, as we all know, most of the time this happening is not ruled as a foul and things are just so to speak "let go" for the moment and it is now the next players turn as the balls lay on the table...

What do you guys think?

Should a Miscue be a foul?

Thanks for your input...

Mr. J.

Never!I have never miscued even once and I resent the accusation.
 
No foul

I don't think mis-cues should be called a foul.I'd like to see a little
slack given here because it rarely leads to an advantage.

And a precedent HAS been set in all billiard games...

..Any masse shot traps the cueball between the tip and the table bed..
...but by convention we allow it
 
So, if you think the CB/OB are within a chalk and someone calls “push” and shoots through it--- you guys don’t consider that a foul??? CB/OB have to be touching to push through.

First, I'd like to point out that this isn't the way *I* play. You seem to be preaching rules to me like I don't know them. This chalk width rule isn't something I came up with, it's a rule here in Japan. Second, you need to remember that American rules mean pretty much nothing over here. If you ever do decide to travel internationally, be prepared to see different rules in practice and then do me a huge favor if you do, do not start a rules conversation with "well, in America it's like this....." Nothing more irritating than hearing that opening line.
MULLY
 
A better strategy would be to pocket the balls when you can and win.

I know ... there are the "pro" players that look ahead 5 balls or more and if they see a problem they "duck and hide" and hope the other guy solves the problem for them.
The three foul rule is the worst rule ever made for pool.

IMHO ... miscues should never be a foul even on the break shot.
It is punishment enough to give up the table like that.
As for miscues on the break shot ...
I think it is a sign of sportsmanship to let your opponent try again if he miscued on the break and did not hit a racked ball.
Even if he did hit a racked ball, I would offer to re-rack and let him break again.
I try to play like a gentleman not like a hungry shark.

If you are in a tournament or money game a foul is a foul, there is no grey area. If I'm just out playing and my opponent miscues on the break I'll always have them try again if they want to.
MULLY
 
Back
Top