OB falls into pocket while CB is in transit to hit it, Is this a foul?

fish2

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
OB is at the edge of the pocket, Players shoots, while CB is in motion in the direction of the OB, the OB falls into the pocket, CB scatches without touching the OB. Whats next???
 
I stand corrected. See below posts for the answer. Removing this to avoid people getting the wrong answer.
 
Last edited:
OB is at the edge of the pocket, Players shoots, while CB is in motion in the direction of the OB, the OB falls into the pocket, CB scatches without touching the OB. Whats next???
Cue ball scratched. Ball in hand for opponent. Doesnt matter what happened since the cb scratched.
actually the shot is set back up and the shooter shoots again
no foul
from WPA rules
bolded and enlarged font by me for emphasis
.................
....................

1.7 Balls Settling​


A ball may settle slightly after it appears to have stopped, possibly due to slight imperfections in the ball or the table. Unless this causes a ball to fall into a pocket, it is considered a normal hazard of play, and the ball will not be moved back. If a ball falls into a pocket as the result of such settling, it is restored as closely as possible to its original position. If a settling ball falls into a pocket during or just prior to a shot, and this has an effect on the shot, the referee will restore the position and the shot will be replayed. The shooter is not penalized for shooting while a ball is settling. See also 8.3 Ball Pocketed.
 
actually the shot is set back up and the shooter shoots again
no foul
from WPA rules
bolded and enlarged font by me for emphasis
.................
....................

1.7 Balls Settling​


A ball may settle slightly after it appears to have stopped, possibly due to slight imperfections in the ball or the table. Unless this causes a ball to fall into a pocket, it is considered a normal hazard of play, and the ball will not be moved back. If a ball falls into a pocket as the result of such settling, it is restored as closely as possible to its original position. If a settling ball falls into a pocket during or just prior to a shot, and this has an effect on the shot, the referee will restore the position and the shot will be replayed. The shooter is not penalized for shooting while a ball is settling. See also 8.3 Ball Pocketed.
My error. Removed my answer so people will scroll to the correct one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
Been playing 40yrs and have never seen this happen. Seen some weird shit but not this.
I've seen it happen a couple times. Bound to happen at least once if you play enough one pocket where balls are often left hanging at the edge of a pocket.
 
what kind of table was this on? I'm seen balls fall after resting on the edge with valley tables...

Movement of the players and others in the room, vibrations from the player shooting, can cause a hanging ball to fall. Especially on a lighter table.
 
Been playing 40yrs and have never seen this happen. Seen some weird shit but not this.
Had this happen at the local bar last Sunday.
Ball had been stationary for 30+ seconds while jibber-jabber transpires and just when player addresses CB other ball drops.
Table was not disturbed in any way.
 
sounds fair to do that but not practical. not many shots can be recreated especially if multiple balls have been moved.

whats wrong with the rub of the green idea.
 
that doesnt mean its a practical rule.

balls get scattered and can't be replaced. what to do then? re rack new game.

i agree rule is a rule in a tourny and works for both sides so is fair that way.

you are a more rule oriented person than me bob.

but in a cash game most will let the shot play as it were.
my contention would be he bumped the table and caused it to fall so cannot get an advantage from it.
 
Back
Top