I posted this in the "other" thread (
I'm so sick of 9-ball), but thought I'd ask it here as well.
4. After the break, whether you made a ball or not, proceed to shoot, calling each shot. Try to run the table, shoting the ball in any order UNTIL THERE ARE FIVE BALLS REMAINING. If you do pocket ten balls, then the last five balls must be shot IN ROTATION (in numerical order starting with the lowest number ball). If you MISS A SHOT, the rack is OVER. There are no second chances or mulligans! The first ten balls score 1 point each, and the last five balls score 2 points each. On each rack you can score a MAXIMUM of 20 points.
5. When there are six balls on the table and you pocket two or more balls in one shot, they all stay down and are each worth 1 point. Shoot the remaining balls in rotation, in which each ball is worth 2 points each.
I hate to bump an old(er) thread, but I'm wanting to use this "Q Skill Challenge" as a practice. However, I noticed a discrepency in the scoring methods; particularly regarding the 10th shot, and need clarification on two things.
1. Per rule #4, you must call each shot. What happens if you call a shot, pocket the called shot, but also drop *another* ball in a different pocket, without calling it? Do you spot the ball? Or does it too count as 1 point? Rule #5 seems to address this, but is ambiguous.
If the ball does not count as a point, does it stay down (meaning I can't score the maximum 20 points per rack), or does it get spotted?
2. Per rule #5, on the 10th shot, if you drop TWO (or more) balls, each is worth only 1 point. That means you cannot score the maximum of 20 points should you run the entire rack. For each additional ball you pocket on tha 10th shot, you end up losing (or rather, failing to gain) one point, albeit unintentionally.
Example: break, drop two balls, ergo your starting score is 2 points. Then pocket seven more balls (each worth one point), so your running score is 9. On the 10th shot, drop two balls (assuming I called BOTH shots, so regardless of my first question, they would count), and my score would be 11 points; then continue shooting per rule #5, with each ball being worth 2 points, and should I drop the remaining four balls (thereby running the entire rack), my total score would be
19, not a perfect 20, which would have been my score had I not pocketed two balls on the 10th shot.
Not that I run racks regularly, but for the rules and scoring sake, if someone runs the entire rack but dropped two (or more) balls on the 10th shot, should they simply award themselves 20 points (which would have been the score had each ball been pocketed individually), or should they take only the score they made?
Hope those two questions make sense. :embarrassed2: