One of those weird foul question again...

X Breaker

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi everyone,

Here is one of those foul that was called when my friend was playing someone for money. I could not believe that anyone would call such a foul, but then, I am not sure if it is really a foul to begin with...

Shooter A finished running the table, he sunk the 9 ball and the cue ball was rolling very slowing in the middle of the table, almost came to a complete stop as he picked up the cue ball. Player B called a foul saying that he was not allowed to touch the ball until everything on the table has come to a complete stop. He asked player A to re spot the 9 and he took a ball in hand and won the game hence the match.:eek: :eek:

Somehow, player A believed that he did foul so he let player B won with the ball in hand.

I have seen players picking up the cue ball very often when it is still in motion. Sometimes, the cue ball is picked up in the middle of a game when a player fouls and gives the other player a ball in hand. Now, if the player who is awarded ball in hand goes to pick up the cue ball when it is still moving but is clear of hitting any other ball, can his opponent call a foul and get the ball in hand back?

Richard
 
nipponbilliards said:
Hi everyone,

Here is one of those foul that was called when my friend was playing someone for money. I could not believe that anyone would call such a foul, but then, I am not sure if it is really a foul to begin with...

Shooter A finished running the table, he sunk the 9 ball and the cue ball was rolling very slowing in the middle of the table, almost came to a complete stop as he picked up the cue ball. Player B called a foul saying that he was not allowed to touch the ball until everything on the table has come to a complete stop. He asked player A to re spot the 9 and he took a ball in hand and won the game hence the match.:eek: :eek:

Somehow, player A believed that he did foul so he let player B won with the ball in hand.

I have seen players picking up the cue ball very often when it is still in motion. Sometimes, the cue ball is picked up in the middle of a game when a player fouls and gives the other player a ball in hand. Now, if the player who is awarded ball in hand goes to pick up the cue ball when it is still moving but is clear of hitting any other ball, can his opponent call a foul and get the ball in hand back?

Richard


Yes, it is a foul anytime you taouch a ball that is in motion until the cue ball comes to a complete stop after the nine ball goes in. Is it a little punkish? Well, it all depends on what was happening. Maybe the ball could have rolled far enough, that is a judgement call. Your description made it sound like a punk call, but just don't touch the balls to avoid it from now on, PERIOD! It is a bad habit to get into actually.
 
I believe you can't touch a ball until it comes to a complete stop. It really depends on what set of rules you are playing under...when gambling, usually it is okay to go ahead and pick up the ball if it's not going to scratch or hit another ball...ie, it's about to stop.

My APA team lost a critical match one year because a 3 picked up the cueball and gave her opponent ball in hand because she thought the cue was going to scratch in the side, when all of us railbirds were like "WTF!". The ball was not going to scratch because it was coming off at a very steep angle into the side pocket and still had speed to rattle out. Needless to say she got a lecture afterwards.

Shorty
 
Yeah its a foul, however if its like you describe that seems a bit ridiculous. One time during a tournament a player was on the 8ball, he missed hitting it and the cueball is going back and forth across the table, which would have resulted in a scratch, but he picked the q-ball up not thinking as it was clear of hitting any balls. Luckily I didnt even have to say anything, he saw his error and conceded the game to me.
 
So, if player A fouls say, by missing his ball with a kick, and player B goes to pick up the cue ball just before it stops, does that mean player B has committed a foul as he/she touches the cue ball while it is still in motion, so player A will not only save giving his opponent a ball in hand but actually is awarded a ball in hand?

If the cue ball is not going to hit anything, a lot of players would just go ahead and pick up the ball. I even saw professional players pick up the cue ball in the US Open while it was still in motion and I have never seen anyone call a foul on that. I am sure many of you have seen this in different match tapes. Why was no one ever being called such a foul on tape?

Richard
 
nipponbilliards said:
So, if player A fouls say, by missing his ball with a kick, and player B goes to pick up the cue ball just before it stops, does that mean player B has committed a foul as he/she touches the cue ball while it is still in motion, so player A will not only save giving his opponent a ball in hand but actually is awarded a ball in hand?

If the cue ball is not going to hit anything, a lot of players would just go ahead and pick up the ball. I even saw professional players pick up the cue ball in the US Open while it was still in motion and I have never seen anyone call a foul on that. I am sure many of you have seen this in different match tapes. Why was no one ever being called such a foul on tape?

Richard
HI Richard
Because only a dick calls a foul on that unless the ball was going to roll into a hole. Between 2 reasonable mature adults it is done all the time to speed up the game. Only a first class crumb calls it -same as taking an extra game because your opponent concedes the 9 in certain tournaments or same as saying after your opponent shoots the money ball straight in the hole "you didnt call it".

And yes Player B technically commited a foul also. In the boooks it is as same as if he picked up the 9 just before it pocketed. Merry Xmas Rich.
 
Very Simple

Never Ever Ever touch a moving ball..In cash games i see players picking up moving balls all the time..Bad choice..Even if he/she should does it just get used to letting the balls come to a complete stop..Especially in tourny and league play.. Don:D
 
Nostroke said:
HI Richard
Because only a dick calls a foul on that unless the ball was going to roll into a hole. Between 2 reasonable mature adults it is done all the time to speed up the game. Only a first class crumb calls it -same as taking an extra game because your opponent concedes the 9 in certain tournaments or same as saying after your opponent shoots the money ball straight in the hole "you didnt call it".

And yes Player B technically commited a foul also. In the boooks it is as same as if he picked up the 9 just before it pocketed. Merry Xmas Rich.
Merry Christmas to you, too.

I agree with you. I think it is a very cheap shot.

I posted my question because I wanted to know if it is really a valid call, and what would other people do in this situation.

Isn't this kind of foul call a disgrace to the game?

A guy here in town used to call fouls when he did not hear his opponent say"push" even if it was obvious and the opponent did say the word, and he even carried a rule book around so he could back up his call by highlighting the word "acknowledged."

Richard
 
Another question I have is what if I call this foul on you, what would you say/do?

:D :D :D

Richard
 
nipponbilliards said:
Another question I have is what if I call this foul on you, what would you say/do?

:D :D :D

Richard

If I did that, I would be down on myself for the mental slip up and then I would probably say, "Yeah, well bite me!":D
 
nipponbilliards said:
Another question I have is what if I call this foul on you, what would you say/do?

:D :D :D

Richard

I would quit and pay you and never speak to you again.

In general, I think you would wind up getting punched about 1 in 5 times calling this and after doing it 2 or 3 times, be considered a low life scumbag by the pool community as a whole.
 
When two shooters have respect for each other, as most do at the highest of levels, players want to lose and win playing the right way.

Let this be a lesson to the shooter to never ever, even if the ball is going to scratch right into the pocket. One of the first things I was taught.

I don't gamble, and play in leagues for fun only, and even I know never to touch the cue ball while it is in motion.

Shame on the guy for breaking the rules, and shame on his opponent calling him on it.

BTW, I would never call someone on this, but I also would never touch a cue ball in motion. There is never a reason to.
 
Donovan said:
Yes, it is a foul anytime you taouch a ball that is in motion until the cue ball comes to a complete stop after the nine ball goes in. Is it a little punkish? Well, it all depends on what was happening. Maybe the ball could have rolled far enough, that is a judgement call. Your description made it sound like a punk call, but just don't touch the balls to avoid it from now on, PERIOD! It is a bad habit to get into actually.
No question ....any person Cannot touch the balls while in motion.......
 
nipponbilliards said:
I even saw professional players pick up the cue ball in the US Open while it was still in motion and I have never seen anyone call a foul on that. Richard

In this situation, the shooter probably missed the ball they were supposed to hit. The opponent was getting ball in hand anyway, so the fouling player picked up the cue ball as a courtesy - and it's not like the incoming player could get TWO ball-in-hands -> one for missing the ball, and one for picking up a moving cue ball.

Your original situation is another example of "don't get into a game until you get the rules straight up front."

In general, if the rules aren't decided up front, the unwritten rule for gambling is (*tournament rules are known upfront, and your area may be different*): [after a foul] if the cue ball isn't going to hit anything, you can pick it up while it's still rolling. But if the cue ball is moving fast, or looks like it might get close to hitting something, you must let it roll to a stop. The first time you do it, you get warned, the second time, loss of game.

Part 2 of the unwritten rules: if the cue ball isn't going to scratch after making the 9, the shooter can grab the cue ball for his next break - if it's moving fast or might get close to scratching, just let it roll -> if it's obviously not going to scratch, no harm and no foul. An opponent that calls this kind of foul is just trying to shark you, and I wouldn't let them get away with calling a foul after they just lost the game. It's a psychological maneuver to throw you off your game. If your opponent won't budge, and there is a stalemate, quit. Besides, no one wants to play with someone that can't win except by sharking...

-td
 
Last edited:
Just like what td873 said....If the CB is more than obviously not going to scratch and you grabbed it up and he calls a foul is nother more than lowlife, sore loser, piece of shit behavior...I'd tell the guy to kindly go f%$# himself....
________
 
Last edited:
Yea, anyone who calls that a foul is just desperate, to try to win, and knows he has no chance of beating the other player.

Now while it is a Foul, its freaking childish to call that foul unless the CB is comming off a rail at a decent speed.

Even when i play A or AA players, i let the CB roll till i know its either not going to scratch, or its going to hit a rail and have no chance of scratching.

Only cuz, when playing on any table, if the CB is comming off a Rail or 2 depending on the angle and shot, and speed, your always going to get those funky table rolls, n stuff, that makes everyone laugh and go WTF.

Now, yea i was playing in a APA 9ball league this past summer and had a new guy on the team, never played APA b4, well he did the classic, missed the OB and the CB was flying around the table and he grabbed it before it was about to hit a ball.

Well the guy shooting against him said something, and but wasnt going to call foul, cuz it was already ball in hand. So when they guy asked about it, i said, dont ever touch the CB, just let it roll, and if you do touch it, I WILL FREAKING CHOP OFF YOUR HAND!!!!

Needless to say he didnt touch the CB ever again lol

dave
 
It is definitely a foul. There was a guy from the Chicago area who has passed away who was known for calling that on people all time time. You knew when you played him, DON'T TOUCH ANY BALL while anything was in motion even if it was at a snail's pace. It is a gentleman's way to give the person the respect they deserve at the table to not call such a petty thing, however, it is a rule and can cost you a game if someone wants to enforce it.
 
Don't ever take anything for granted...

It's for reasons just like this that I always let my opponent shoot the 9 ball regardless of how easy it may be. Especially in a tournament game or money match you shouldn't leave anything open to interpretation.

This doesn't make you a 'dick'. (Except maybe in your opponent's eyes). Only making sure that there is absolutely no question over the result.

For the same reasons, I will always take 'Ball in Hand' on a 9-Ball, unless my opponent offers his hand.

So, to get back on topic, I would agree that, unless your opponent accepted loss of game, the CB should have come to rest before the game was over.

$0.02 worth.

BS
 
Blue_Suede said:
It's for reasons just like this that I always let my opponent shoot the 9 ball regardless of how easy it may be. Especially in a tournament game or money match you shouldn't leave anything open to interpretation.

This doesn't make you a 'dick'.

I'm a dick then, because I started making everybody shoot the nine...I started seeing my opponents miss alot of nines I took for granted...
________
 
Last edited:
Back
Top