One-Pocket Question

levartze

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
In a match earlier today (I was getting 6 to 8), my opponent and I needed one ball. My ball was hanging in the jaws of the pocket and another ball was preventing my opponent from pocketing my ball and scratching. So, he tried to make a tough bank which brushed against my ball and pocketed in; but, at the same time incredibly pocketed a ball in his pocket.

Did I win because my ball pocketed first? Did he win because he pocketed his ball? We agreed to call the game a draw. Just curious...
 
weeseng said:
the shooter wins, as long as its the same stroke..

http://www.onepocket.org/one_pocket_pool_rules.htm

I tried to find where the rules specifically says the shooter wins in this situation - I don't see it.

I do see:
The first player (or team) to legally score eight balls into their own pocket wins the game, whether they pocket their game-winning ball by their own shot, or as a result of their opponent's shot.

Since my ball fell first (whether by their own shot, or as a result of their opponent's shot), it looks like I should have won - according to the rules...
 
if this happens, i'd give credit to the player who's inning it was. yes your ball went first, but on his inning. i'd award the shooter the game. the aforementioned rule didn't give any mention as to timing. i think the rule should be interpreted as if his ball didn't go, you win, clearly.

justin.
 
Last edited:
levartze said:
In a match earlier today (I was getting 6 to 8), my opponent and I needed one ball. My ball was hanging in the jaws of the pocket and another ball was preventing my opponent from pocketing my ball and scratching. So, he tried to make a tough bank which brushed against my ball and pocketed in; but, at the same time incredibly pocketed a ball in his pocket.

Did I win because my ball pocketed first? Did he win because he pocketed his ball? We agreed to call the game a draw. Just curious...
That's interesting because that would never be able to occur if you were both going to eight. I think the ball that was pocketed first delivered the win to whomever was shooting at that hole.
 
levartze said:
I tried to find where the rules specifically says the shooter wins in this situation - I don't see it.
Here's the rule you missed further down in the rules sections on onepocket.org:

"3.2 In the event that a player pockets both their own game winning ball, and their opponent?s game winning ball, both on the same legal stroke, then the shooting player wins. There are no ?ties?, and it does not matter which ball drops first, as long as they both drop as a result of the same stroke."

Doc
 
gulfportdoc said:
Here's the rule you missed further down in the rules sections on onepocket.org:

"3.2 In the event that a player pockets both their own game winning ball, and their opponent?s game winning ball, both on the same legal stroke, then the shooting player wins. There are no ?ties?, and it does not matter which ball drops first, as long as they both drop as a result of the same stroke."

Doc

Thanks Doc!

That's what I was looking for.... :) We settled for a draw - luckily for me. :grin:
 
Back
Top