One Pocket Question?

Karate

Do you expect me to post?
Silver Member
This question came up in a game of One Pocket last night.
After pocketing a few balls, then finally missing one, the player owed a ball.
The balls on the table came to rest as follows;
There was a ball on the spot already. The cue ball was froze to it, under it, slightly a half ball over. (Straight under it would be the same example).
Below the cue ball was a gap the size of two balls. Then, below that were two more balls.
His opponent had a ball hanging in the jaw of his pocket and couldn't wait to get to the table. As the guy attempted to spot his owed ball by freezing it up against the cue ball, the argument started. The opponent insisted the owed ball was to be froze against the bottom of the two balls under the cue ball, arguing that you can't freeze a ball to the cue ball.

I'd like to get some AZ'ers input on this, and possibly where a ruling can be found. I would expect the BCA handbook, but I don't have a copy.

Thanks-
Karate
 
You *cannot* freeze an object ball to the cue ball.

House rules may vary, but this is standard practice and they employ this rule at the Derby City Classic if ever the situation arises.

-SW



Karate said:
This question came up in a game of One Pocket last night.
After pocketing a few balls, then finally missing one, the player owed a ball.
The balls on the table came to rest as follows;
There was a ball on the spot already. The cue ball was froze to it, under it, slightly a half ball over. (Straight under it would be the same example).
Below the cue ball was a gap the size of two balls. Then, below that were two more balls.
His opponent had a ball hanging in the jaw of his pocket and couldn't wait to get to the table. As the guy attempted to spot his owed ball by freezing it up against the cue ball, the argument started. The opponent insisted the owed ball was to be froze against the bottom of the two balls under the cue ball, arguing that you can't freeze a ball to the cue ball.

I'd like to get some AZ'ers input on this, and possibly where a ruling can be found. I would expect the BCA handbook, but I don't have a copy.

Thanks-
Karate
 
Stolen from the Derby City website (note that I am referring to it, as I see it as one of the premiere one-pocket tournies):

"When spotting balls, an object ball may not be "frozen" to the cue ball. It should however, be placed as closely to the cue ball as possible, but not quite frozen. Spotted balls should be frozen to other object balls. If there is no room between the spot and the food rail, then spotted balls shall be placed forward of the spot on the centerline."
 
And that's not my typo, it's theirs since I copied and pasted it; The DCC website indeed does say, "food rail."

lol

StevenPWaldon said:
Stolen from the Derby City website (note that I am referring to it, as I see it as one of the premiere one-pocket tournies):

"When spotting balls, an object ball may not be "frozen" to the cue ball. It should however, be placed as closely to the cue ball as possible, but not quite frozen. Spotted balls should be frozen to other object balls. If there is no room between the spot and the food rail, then spotted balls shall be placed forward of the spot on the centerline."
 
he shoulda ran up and shot it before the other guy could spot the ball

Karate said:
This question came up in a game of One Pocket last night.
After pocketing a few balls, then finally missing one, the player owed a ball.
The balls on the table came to rest as follows;
There was a ball on the spot already. The cue ball was froze to it, under it, slightly a half ball over. (Straight under it would be the same example).
Below the cue ball was a gap the size of two balls. Then, below that were two more balls.
His opponent had a ball hanging in the jaw of his pocket and couldn't wait to get to the table. As the guy attempted to spot his owed ball by freezing it up against the cue ball, the argument started. The opponent insisted the owed ball was to be froze against the bottom of the two balls under the cue ball, arguing that you can't freeze a ball to the cue ball.

I'd like to get some AZ'ers input on this, and possibly where a ruling can be found. I would expect the BCA handbook, but I don't have a copy.

Thanks-
Karate
 
StevenPWaldon said:
The DCC website indeed does say, "food rail." lol

The food rail is my favorite rail! You skinny people don't understand how hard it is to maintain 260 pounds! I am however trying to take long distance maintenance lessons from Buddy. Played him in a Midwest 9-Ball Tour event and he ate 3 candy bars during our match.

Later,
Bob <<< Where'd that damn Snickers get off to?
 
I think Basavich can give you a few lessons as well.

Cane said:
The food rail is my favorite rail! You skinny people don't understand how hard it is to maintain 260 pounds! I am however trying to take long distance maintenance lessons from Buddy. Played him in a Midwest 9-Ball Tour event and he ate 3 candy bars during our match.

Later,
Bob <<< Where'd that damn Snickers get off to?
 
Thanks for the response

I also consider the DCC as being a Premier One Pocket tourney.

I've heard of players putting a dollar bill between the cue ball and the incoming spotted ball, then removing the bill after the ball is spotted.

Karate-
 
Karate said:
I also consider the DCC as being a Premier One Pocket tourney.

I've heard of players putting a dollar bill between the cue ball and the incoming spotted ball, then removing the bill after the ball is spotted.

Karate-

That would be another foul as nothing is allowed to touch the cue ball including your shirt, belly, cigarette ashes or chalk dust if you happen to chalk over the cue ball.
Dick
 
rhncue said:
That would be another foul as nothing is allowed to touch the cue ball including your shirt, belly, cigarette ashes or chalk dust if you happen to chalk over the cue ball.
Dick
Holy poopoo...chalk dust?!? I don't think that would be with the spirit/ intention of the rule, but I guess if it is, it is.

Egg- stop your lying!
 
Karate said:
This question came up in a game of One Pocket last night.
After pocketing a few balls, then finally missing one, the player owed a ball.
The balls on the table came to rest as follows;
There was a ball on the spot already. The cue ball was froze to it, under it, slightly a half ball over. (Straight under it would be the same example).
Below the cue ball was a gap the size of two balls. Then, below that were two more balls.
His opponent had a ball hanging in the jaw of his pocket and couldn't wait to get to the table. As the guy attempted to spot his owed ball by freezing it up against the cue ball, the argument started. The opponent insisted the owed ball was to be froze against the bottom of the two balls under the cue ball, arguing that you can't freeze a ball to the cue ball.

I'd like to get some AZ'ers input on this, and possibly where a ruling can be found. I would expect the BCA handbook, but I don't have a copy.

Thanks-
Karate
A ruling can be found here:
Official One Pocket Rules

9.1 covers where you spot it
6.7 covers the fact that it is not a foul to touch the cue ball when spotting a ball (because when you spot the ball you are actually acting in the capacity of a surrogate official, not as a player)

By the way, the OnePocket.org rules were compiled exactly because prior rules were so woefully incomplete. They incorporate principles of BCA, DCC, Grady's rules and input from several nationally respected 1P tournament directors, and are the 'state of the art', even if they are not BCA sanctioned :)
 
Back
Top