This question came up in a game of One Pocket last night.
After pocketing a few balls, then finally missing one, the player owed a ball.
The balls on the table came to rest as follows;
There was a ball on the spot already. The cue ball was froze to it, under it, slightly a half ball over. (Straight under it would be the same example).
Below the cue ball was a gap the size of two balls. Then, below that were two more balls.
His opponent had a ball hanging in the jaw of his pocket and couldn't wait to get to the table. As the guy attempted to spot his owed ball by freezing it up against the cue ball, the argument started. The opponent insisted the owed ball was to be froze against the bottom of the two balls under the cue ball, arguing that you can't freeze a ball to the cue ball.
I'd like to get some AZ'ers input on this, and possibly where a ruling can be found. I would expect the BCA handbook, but I don't have a copy.
Thanks-
Karate
After pocketing a few balls, then finally missing one, the player owed a ball.
The balls on the table came to rest as follows;
There was a ball on the spot already. The cue ball was froze to it, under it, slightly a half ball over. (Straight under it would be the same example).
Below the cue ball was a gap the size of two balls. Then, below that were two more balls.
His opponent had a ball hanging in the jaw of his pocket and couldn't wait to get to the table. As the guy attempted to spot his owed ball by freezing it up against the cue ball, the argument started. The opponent insisted the owed ball was to be froze against the bottom of the two balls under the cue ball, arguing that you can't freeze a ball to the cue ball.
I'd like to get some AZ'ers input on this, and possibly where a ruling can be found. I would expect the BCA handbook, but I don't have a copy.
Thanks-
Karate