One-pocket rule question

RakRunr

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Playing one-pocket yesterday, my opponent took a shot using the bridge. He made a ball in my pocket, then dropped the bridge moving 2 other balls.

Moving 2 balls is a foul, so we know he has to spot a ball. The question is whether or not the ball he made in my pocket also gets spotted.

The kinda-sorta consensus in the room was that no ball stays down on a foul, so we ended up spotting that ball as well.

The argument against is that this rule could be abused. Let's say there is a case where you can't scratch behind your opponent's ball, but need to, you could make his ball and then "accidentally on purpose" move two other balls on the table to force it back up.

It seems to me that one option would be that if you make a ball in your opponents pocket and foul (as opposed to scratch), then he gets to keep that ball. This would apply for the technical foul mentioned above and double hitting the cue ball.

So, ethical question aside, what *should* the ruling be? Do the current rules address this scenario?
 
the only fouls that spot the ball made in the opponents hole is scratch in the pocket or jump the table with the cue ball

all others the opponents ball remains

as I understand
dean

your ball should have stayed in your hole
 
Rule 6.2 from onepocket.org site:

6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter's inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter's pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent's pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent's pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.


link to Rules:
http://www.onepocket.org/one_pocket_pool_rules.htm
 
the only fouls that spot the ball made in the opponents hole is scratch in the pocket or jump the table with the cue ball

all others the opponents ball remains

as I understand
dean

your ball should have stayed in your hole

I believe you're correct. This discussion came up on a similar situation at onepocket.org not too long ago.
 
deanoc is correct. This is from the "Official One Pocket Rules" on OnePocket.org:

"... any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent."

Incidentally, it is not clear to me from reading the "Official ... Rules" that moving two balls with the bridge is a foul (as opposed to just restoring their positions). But, from what you say, I imagine it is generally played that way.
 
Rule 6.2 from onepocket.org site:

6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter's inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter's pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent's pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent's pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.


link to Rules:
http://www.onepocket.org/one_pocket_pool_rules.htm

Perfect, thank you!
 
deanoc is correct. This is from the "Official One Pocket Rules" on OnePocket.org:

"... any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent."

Incidentally, it is not clear to me from reading the "Official ... Rules" that moving two balls with the bridge is a foul (as opposed to just restoring their positions). But, from what you say, I imagine it is generally played that way.

The way we play locally, if you move one ball, your opponent has the option to move it back or leave it. If you move two, it is a foul, and the balls remain in place. If you move more than two, it is typically loss of game.
 
Nice that they cleared up that rule....lotta rules were negotiated in situ back in the 70s.

Scenario....score is 3 balls apiece....guy messes up a take-out and leaves whitey near
.the top of the spot....he claims he double hit the cue ball and wants to spot a ball...
...froze on the cue ball.
...his opponent wasn't going for it and ran out....he says to the room "Can you imagine
THAT!...must be the first foul he ever called on himself."
 
Back
Top