One Pocket Rules Question

WGCP

JUST ANOTHER DAY
A discussion ensued after the following happened... My opponent had a ball jawed in his pocket, I shot it in, did not scratch and told him to spot the ball, as he owed one from a previous foul. He said he did not owe this ball until after his inning was over, which by the way favored him from where I left the cue ball, with the ball spotted he had no shot. Anyone know the rule?
 
WGCP said:
A discussion ensued after the following happened... My opponent had a ball jawed in his pocket, I shot it in, did not scratch and told him to spot the ball, as he owed one from a previous foul. He said he did not owe this ball until after his inning was over, which by the way favored him from where I left the cue ball, with the ball spotted he had no shot. Anyone know the rule?


The ball must spot immediately.
 
Any owed balls that can be spotted are to be spotted after any inning. So in this case right after your inning is over his ball spots.
 
Go to www.onepocket.org and print out the rule book (only a few pages). Give it to the guy behind the bar and tell him to keep it back there - now any time you have a dispute you can just tell them to go to the bar and read the rules.
 
People typically argue over arbitrary things, ya know things that have no black and white answers, things that are a matter of preference or opinion. Its pretty tough to argue (continually) as you say over something so definable as written rules to a game.

Perhaps this is a deeper problem, perhaps your opponent can't read. A link to the rules was provided above, but why not give your opponent this link as well.

http://www.mdsupport.org/snellen.html
 
Some people will try anything to get it their way.
Had the situation been reversed where it would favor him to spot the ball maybe he would argue to have it spotted after your turn. I'm not saying he's that way, but some are. To some it depends on the bet.
 
I have a semi-related rules question.
A makes ball in B's pocket... the cue ball flows over and pocket's a ball in A's pocket.
Is it still A's turn? or is A's inning over. And which balls get spotted?

I didn't read anything in the rules that made this situation clear.
 
thyme3421 said:
I have a semi-related rules question.
A makes ball in B's pocket... the cue ball flows over and pocket's a ball in A's pocket.
Is it still A's turn? or is A's inning over. And which balls get spotted?

I didn't read anything in the rules that made this situation clear.
Both balls stay down and A continues to shoot. Preferably in his own pocket and on purpose. :)

BVal
 
thyme3421 said:
I have a semi-related rules question.
A makes ball in B's pocket... the cue ball flows over and pocket's a ball in A's pocket.
Is it still A's turn? or is A's inning over. And which balls get spotted?

I didn't read anything in the rules that made this situation clear.

I think this would be covered in the rules implicitly by the fact that one-pocket is not a call-shot game. So if A wants, he can just play it off like he meant to do that, but either way, it's still his turn. :D
 
Back
Top