Playing to the level of competition?

zy112

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I know this has probably been covered. But this is by biggest and most frustrating downfall. Maybe it can be contributed to lack of consistency.

I play with high skill level players on Friday and Saturday and I play very competitively... sure, they may take a few more games than I get but I consider them higher caliber good competition. Then I can go to the bar or league and get beat by some joker.

What really got me, was a guy I was playing with tonight says, "we're about on the same level in league." Sadly, I have to agree. I know I can handle him and is a notch below me, but when we play its close to even. I just never play good against the guy and I can say that about a few people I feel I am much stronger than. I'm and APA 6, just starting in Valley too, but I feel since two years ago when I started playing this has always been a problem.

So I guess to lay it out there, I don't play one pace. I play great, then decent, then poor, then good... you get the point. Does anyone else struggle with this? Has anyone struggled with this and feel you've overcome this issue? If so, how did you overcome it? I know experience, practice ect probably has a lot to do with it but it hurts loosing to people you should'nt.

Jallan

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have had a problem with this in the past and still sometimes do, however, I have decided that it does not matter who I play. My job at the table is to get out and that is what I try to do. Does it always happen? No. Does it happen a lot more often now that I have decided not to think about the guy in the chair? Yes.

It has helped me on a lot of levels, especially with tougher players.