r one-cushion and carom cushion the same game?

doubletrouble

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
is cushion carom to be played as it sounds? cushion then carom? bca rule book i have seems to say that but isn't too clear. or is it played as 3 cushion only requiring 1 cushion?
 
The cue ball must contact the cushions at least once before completing the carom. Cushion first or ball first does not matter.

Mark
 
bca rule book from 01 states rule in cushion carom, "on all shots the player must cause the cue ball to contact one or more cushions before it contacts either of the two object balls" so kinda thinking cushion carom is a different game than one cushion.
 
Ok, but I have never before heard of such a game. In Europe thay call one-cushion "cushion-caroms", and the requirement is as I said above.

Mark
 
bca rule book from 01 states rule in cushion carom, "on all shots the player must cause the cue ball to contact one or more cushions before it contacts either of the two object balls" so kinda thinking cushion carom is a different game than one cushion.
The BCA Rule Book from 2001 is broken. Here is how the rule read in 1997:
2. On all shots, player must cause the cue ball to either (1) contact one or more cushions before contacting object balls, or (2) contact an object ball directly and then one or more cushions before it contacts second object ball.
In 1998 this was unfortunately and incorrectly shortened to:
2. On all shots the player must cause the cue ball to contact one or more cushions before it contacts either of the two object balls (red ball only on opening break).
This is clearly very broken. It says that on the opening break shot you must bank the cue ball before it hits the red ball. While that may be an interesting game, it is not cushion caroms.

The rule book was revised for the 1998 commemorative 50th anniversary edition. Evidently there was no one available to proofread for content.

A simple unambiguous way to state the requirement is that:

The cue ball must contact both object balls and must contact at least one cushion before contacting the second object ball for the first time.
 
thanks so much for the info bob. i was thinking this rule in book might not be written quite right, but didn't know, but no luck searching the web for prove 1 way or the other. thanks again very much,
 
A simple unambiguous way to state the requirement is that:

The cue ball must contact both object balls and must contact at least one cushion before contacting the second object ball for the first time.

Bob,

I like my version better. The problem I see with yours is that people will want to change "one cushion" to "three cushions" when stating the 3C requirement. In mine the change "once" to "three times" works.

Mark
 
Bob,

I like my version better. The problem I see with yours is that people will want to change "one cushion" to "three cushions" when stating the 3C requirement. In mine the change "once" to "three times" works.

Mark

Well, OK, but yours requires the reader to know what "completes the carom" means. Change mine from "must contact at least one cushion" to "must make at least one cushion contact".

Straight rail does not require any cushion contacts. The modern version of straight rail has a small triangular balk area in each corner to prevent "crotching."
 
Last edited:
Back
Top