Racking Situation Question

StraightPoolIU

Brent
Silver Member
In the event that the last ball ends up in the rack area, and the cueball ends up behind the headstring when the object ball is moved up to the headspot are you allowed to shoot it?
 
StraightPoolIU said:
In the event that the last ball ends up in the rack area, and the cueball ends up behind the headstring when the object ball is moved up to the headspot are you allowed to shoot it?

Of course. Limitations with the shooting direction applies only when you have a BIH behind the head string.
 
Without a doubt, have at it! :thumbup:

As a matter of fact, this situation is not that unusual when the table is given over to you with only a couple of balls left and your choice of break balls is limited. You may intentionally play position behind the head string in order to pocket the spotted break ball in the side while attempting to spread the new rack.
 
Last edited:
Sorry that actually turned out to be kind of a dumb question. It seems like the other day we had a situation come up where it was bih behind the headstring and the object ball was in the rack, but now that I think about that I'm not sure if that is possible.
 
Here's a handy chart that I lifted from the World Standardized Rules. I reformatted it for my 14.1 league. It's printed right on my score sheet so its right there when the questions come up.

141RackingConsiderations.jpg
 
StraightPoolIU said:
Sorry that actually turned out to be kind of a dumb question. It seems like the other day we had a situation come up where it was bih behind the headstring and the object ball was in the rack, but now that I think about that I'm not sure if that is possible.

If you refer to the situation where both cueball and the last ball end up in the rack, then you get a BIH from the kitchen and the last ball is racked with other balls to make a 15-ball rack.
 
Back
Top