Rule Challenge!!!!!!

twoslo4me

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..
 
its never come up, but i have heard that rule somewhere before, where is has to touch a rail other than the one it's frozen to. that was somewhat recently.....maybe at the texas open ?
 
Foul. The rail the ball is frozen to is considered dead and either ball has to contact any other rail to be a legal hit.
 
That is a legal hit according WPA rules. The cue ball was not frozen to the rail prior to the shot, and as long as the cue ball hits the object ball first, and one ball is driven to the rail, it is a legal shot.

8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns.

-Jon Birger
 
GOOD HIT

If object ball is frozen either:

A. The object ball must go to another rail or object ball can strike another ball causing that ball to strike ANY rail including the same rail where the object ball started.

B. The cue ball must strike a rail AFTER contact with the object ball, this includes the same rail as the object ball is called frozen on.

C. Also if frozen object ball is struck with the cue ball, leaves the rail on which it was frozen, contacts another ball and then strikes the same rail where it started at. That is also a good hit.
 
Last edited:
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..


If the cue ball contacts the object, then hits the rail, it's "no foul".
 
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..

Foul , the OB is on dead rail, it has to hit another rail, or CB has to hit another rail. This is one of them fouls that come a lot in one pocket safety plays, players have to agree on it before match starts.
 
Foul , the OB is on dead rail, it has to hit another rail, or CB has to hit another rail. This is one of them fouls that come a lot in one pocket safety plays, players have to agree on it before match starts.

You must be smoking some good shite....LOL
If the cue ball strikes any rail including the same rail the object ball is frozen too After contact with the object ball that is a GOOD HIT..........End of story :thumbup:
 
GOOD HIT

If object ball is frozen either:

A. The object ball must go to another rail or object ball can strike another ball causing that ball to strike ANY rail including the same rail where the object ball started.

B. The cue ball must strike a rail AFTER contact with the object ball, this includes the same rail as the object ball is called frozen on.

C. Also if frozen object ball is struck with the cue ball, leaves the rail on which it was frozen, contacts another ball and then strikes the same rail where it started at. That is also a good hit.

exactly.................

Kim
 
Back
Top