In that thread, the non-shooter was spotting a ball and accidentally brushed the cue ball. I think the referee or the person acting as the referee cannot be called for a foul. Now if he purposely messed up the position because he saw the 9 ball was dead (at 9 ball) then you have a different can of worms.
Thanks. That was my view as well. Are you aware of something in the rules that says that the non-shooting player is acting as the referee in that circumstance? Although I thought that was the rule, I couldn't find it.
Gideon