Rule on spotting 8 after break bca

In that thread, the non-shooter was spotting a ball and accidentally brushed the cue ball. I think the referee or the person acting as the referee cannot be called for a foul. Now if he purposely messed up the position because he saw the 9 ball was dead (at 9 ball) then you have a different can of worms.

Thanks. That was my view as well. Are you aware of something in the rules that says that the non-shooting player is acting as the referee in that circumstance? Although I thought that was the rule, I couldn't find it.

Gideon
 
It's time for some serious introspection for the person who gets pleasure from enforcing a petty technicality in a meaningless pool game.
 
Funny that we have two threads about this issue in less than 24 hours.

In that other thread I was the acting referee in the tournament, but I was not there when the player brushed the cue ball. I determined that the player who was spotting the ball was acting in a referee's role, thus i did not call a foul on him.

In addition to your view, which I would agree with, the BIH foul section of the rules speaks of the shooter, not a spotter or any other 3rd party.
 
Back
Top