Rule question - called shots

... Although the proper outcome under BCAPL rules would probably be similar if enforced under WSR, you have to do some tap dancing to get there under WSR. Calling more than one ball is not listed as a foul. And interestingly enough, WSR has no "otherwise violates the rules" provision specifying penalties for actions which may violate a rule but are not listed as a foul under WSR. Nor is there any other reference to a penalty for calling more than one ball under WSR 1.6, and the rest of 1.6 is fuzzy at best. ...
I agree that the WSR require some interpretation to get to the right result. I think a simple solution is to replace "Only one ball may be called on each shot," by "If more than one ball is called on a shot, any pocketed ball will be treated as if it were uncalled." I see no reason to make calling two balls a foul -- it's just not a call.

I notice now that 1.6 also needs: "The shooter may change the called ball prior to taking the shot.
 
Corrections: The on-site ref (Ed Smith) did not call a foul, but ruled properly that Vivian's inning was over. Also, it was a first round match and did not end Hunter's run, although I'm sure it certainly did not help his cause. While it is certainly possible, and maybe even likely, that Hunter would have won the match had the call gone his way, no outcome can be predicted with 100% certainty. Vivian went on to lose the next two matches to Manny Chau and Gabe Owen, finishing 65-96. Hunter finished 49-64.

Woah! What a novel that was! :p

Great post. And thanks for the accurate corrections. :)
 
Back
Top