Rule question: Opponents racks the 9-ball on the wing

gozer

New member
I am trying to sort out a strange rule situation I can't quite solve.

9 Ball game, opponent racks.

What if my opponent accidentally racks the 9-ball on the side of the rack (wing ball position) ? Can I accept the rack as it is and go ahead and break with a much better probability of making the 9 ?

I've read the WPA rules front-to-back and I can't quite figure out how to resolve this one.

Opinions welcome!
 
I am trying to sort out a strange rule situation I can't quite solve.

9 Ball game, opponent racks.

What if my opponent accidentally racks the 9-ball on the side of the rack (wing ball position) ? Can I accept the rack as it is and go ahead and break with a much better probability of making the 9 ?

I've read the WPA rules front-to-back and I can't quite figure out how to resolve this one.

Opinions welcome!
I suggest applying a liberal dose of common sense in this situation. Rather than trying to find a loophole in the rules, just point out the error to your opponent and ask for a re-rack. By chance are you related to PocketPoint?
 
I am trying to sort out a strange rule situation I can't quite solve.

9 Ball game, opponent racks.

What if my opponent accidentally racks the 9-ball on the side of the rack (wing ball position) ? Can I accept the rack as it is and go ahead and break with a much better probability of making the 9 ?

I've read the WPA rules front-to-back and I can't quite figure out how to resolve this one.

Opinions welcome!

World Standardized Rules.
Page 33
One in the front & Nine in the middle.........
randyg
 
There was an incident brought up a month or so ago where the 9 was racked incorrectly... After a legal break with balls down the error was taken to the TD and a replay was used to determine it was an illegal rack... Breaker rebroke made nothing the 2nd time and lost....... I am not sure who posted about this or if it even happened but I have seen crazy rulings before.....
 
There was an incident brought up a month or so ago where the 9 was racked incorrectly... After a legal break with balls down the error was taken to the TD and a replay was used to determine it was an illegal rack... Breaker rebroke made nothing the 2nd time and lost....... I am not sure who posted about this or if it even happened but I have seen crazy rulings before.....

That was the right call by the TD. The game doesn't start until there is a legal rack so there never was a legal break. The TD should have warned the racker (who was probably the opponent) that a second offense would result in disciplinary action for poor sportsmanship due to sharking.
 
The WPA rules do not state whether the rack should be re-broken, so far as I know. Perhaps I've overlooked a rule. The WPA web site is : http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play if anyone wants to look through them.

But I'd say that the first thing that should have happened is that the breaker should have told the racker to rack correctly. In the absence of a referee, both players should each do their best to ensure that all rules are followed. To behave otherwise is unsportsmanlike. Yes, many players prefer to honor the motto "screw him before he screws me" but I think it is better for everyone to behave like honest, honorable adults.

If I were the TD, I would have asked the breaker, "Did you notice that the nine was on the wing before you broke?" The answer would tell me how closely I'll have to watch that player in the future. I suppose I'd have them rebreak regardless, but that's a judgement call, not a written rule.
 
The WPA rules do not state whether the rack should be re-broken, so far as I know. Perhaps I've overlooked a rule. The WPA web site is : http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play if anyone wants to look through them.

But I'd say that the first thing that should have happened is that the breaker should have told the racker to rack correctly. In the absence of a referee, both players should each do their best to ensure that all rules are followed. To behave otherwise is unsportsmanlike. Yes, many players prefer to honor the motto "screw him before he screws me" but I think it is better for everyone to behave like honest, honorable adults.

If I were the TD, I would have asked the breaker, "Did you notice that the nine was on the wing before you broke?" The answer would tell me how closely I'll have to watch that player in the future. I suppose I'd have them rebreak regardless, but that's a judgement call, not a written rule.


The rule is clear. The 9 Ball must be racked on the spot. What is not in writing is what to do if the rack is broken with the 9 out of position in the rack. The answer is obvious and logical. The game has not begun until the rack is set correctly.

What other options are there? Assume that it was an oversight by the racker, or ask the racker after the fact to explain and then let the game continue if the explanation was believable?

Or declare a foul against the racker and then give the breaker ball in hand after he just broke?

There is only one logical solution.
 
The rule is clear. The 9 Ball must be racked on the spot. What is not in writing is what to do if the rack is broken with the 9 out of position in the rack. The answer is obvious and logical. The game has not begun until the rack is set correctly.

What other options are there? Assume that it was an oversight by the racker, or ask the racker after the fact to explain and then let the game continue if the explanation was believable?

Or declare a foul against the racker and then give the breaker ball in hand after he just broke?

There is only one logical solution.

Fran according to the WPA rules the 1 ball must be on the foot spot and not the nine. See Rule below: (sourced from: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play).

2.2 Nine Ball Rack
The object balls are racked as tightly as possible in a diamond shape, with the one ball at the apex of the diamond and on the foot spot and the nine ball in the middle of the diamond. The other balls will be placed in the diamond without purposeful or intentional pattern. (See Regulation 4, Racking / Tapping of Balls.)
 
im sure she knows that lol. just a verbal slip.im with bob. i like gentlemans conduct. integrity is key. a game has not begun without a legal rack. a legal rack is prerequisite to the game.
 
I suggest applying a liberal dose of common sense in this situation. Rather than trying to find a loophole in the rules, just point out the error to your opponent and ask for a re-rack. By chance are you related to PocketPoint?

Typically the breaker with enough common sense to look at the rack, will look over to his opponent and point to the rack.
I wouldn't want to win like that, but I've heard about more weenie moves lately than ever before.
As far as pocketpoint is concerned, if this is just a hypothetical situation, it could be pocketpoint, but if it actually happened
it couldn't be pocketpoint, because he doesn't play pool, and neither do any of his previously banned relatives.

If you remember, pocketpoint refused to match up with an APA skill level 3.
 
Back
Top