Rule Question

philly

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
This situation rarely comes up but it did the other day and nobody was sure where to place the object ball, break ball.
Both, the object ball and the cue ball were in the rack.
Obviously the cue ball is played in the kitchen for the break shot but where does the object ball, break ball, get placed.
One guy said in the center of the table.
Thanks for your help.
 
This situation rarely comes up but it did the other day and nobody was sure where to place the object ball, break ball.
Both, the object ball and the cue ball were in the rack.
Obviously the cue ball is played in the kitchen for the break shot but where does the object ball, break ball, get placed.
One guy said in the center of the table.
Thanks for your help.
iirc ob just stays in the rack on the foot spot. here's a chart showing these situations: https://www.fgbradleys.com/rules/14.1ContinuousPool.pdf
 
Rulebooks are really not expensive/hard to obtain. It’s amazing how many billiards enthusiasts have never seen one.
 

4.8 Special Racking Situations

When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.
(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.
(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.
(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.
(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.
In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.
If the cue ball or object ball is barely outside the marked rack area and it is time to rack, the referee should mark the position of the ball to allow it to be accurately replaced if it is accidentally moved by the referee when racking.

1662590503846.png
 
Last edited:
Back
Top