Rules question for 14.1

MOJOE

Work Hard, Be Humble. jbk
Silver Member
If I shoot a safety and make a ball at the same time, does the ball count towards my score or does it spot. I'm talking about making a ball in an intended pocket, not slop but calling safety before I shoot the shot?

Thanks for any help one may provide.

Peace, Joey K
 
If I shoot a safety and make a ball at the same time, does the ball count towards my score or does it spot. I'm talking about making a ball in an intended pocket, not slop but calling safety before I shoot the shot?

Thanks for any help one may provide.

Peace, Joey K

nope. the ball respots so if it counted toward your score it would throw everything off.
 
The rules for 14.1 are HERE.

Here is the applicable text:

4.5 Shots Required to Be Called
Shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot. The shooter may call “safety” in which case play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot and any object ball pocketed on the safety is spotted.

It's not explicit, but you can call either a ball or a safe but not both.
 
If I shoot a safety and make a ball at the same time, does the ball count towards my score or does it spot. I'm talking about making a ball in an intended pocket, not slop but calling safety before I shoot the shot?

Thanks for any help one may provide.

Peace, Joey K

Poolplayer and Bob are right, of course. If you've played even a little straight pool you have probably encountered the situation where you are facing a new rack but have no viable break shot, such as when both the cue ball and object ball are up at the head rail. Very often in this type situation you will call a safe, then shoot the OB into one of the corner pockets at the head end (which spots up), leaving the CB on the head rail with your opponent facing all 15 balls racked down at the foot end. You don't get a point for that shot.

But I'm just wondering if you are really asking something else because your post is a little confusing. You state you are talking about making a ball in an intended pocket but you are also saying you are shooting a safety. I'm not sure how you can be doing both at the same time unless you are referring to a similar situation to the one I just described.
 
Last edited:
My question was answered by both Bob and Poolplayer, thank you.. I was playing 14.1 with an older gentleman yesterday and he called a safety, made a ball and told me it counted. I said not if you call safe, it does not count, it respots.

I did not make a big deal of it since I was not sure, but I was right in my assumption. Next time I'll insist that the ball spots. Thanks for the help everyone.

Joey K
 
... I was playing 14.1 with an older gentleman ... Next time I'll insist that the ball spots. ...
Sometimes it's better not to insist on strict applications of the official rules. Old people are often even more resentful when corrected than young people. If you do decide to work towards the official rules, you may want to get a copy of them to have handy and/or get your opponent to read them. On the other hand, if you are wagering, it's very reasonable to decide ahead of time which rules you will play by, and then the WSR are an obvious good choice.
 
Sometimes it's better not to insist on strict applications of the official rules. Old people are often even more resentful when corrected than young people.....

bob: while that may be true, this was a flagrant error and the old boy needs to be corrected. it is my guess that he KNEW but tried to get away with it. if i were playing him, the game would stop until he gets with the program. there's no telling what he might pull next.... that or just kick his walker out from under him as he's ambling about the table.
 
Thanks for the advice fellas.. It was a friendly game, I don't think he was trying to pull anything over on me but I thought he was probably wrong.. My instincts turned out to be right.

Bob, thanks for your help. I hold your opinion and comments in the highest regard. Thanks for all you do to promote the sport.
 
The rules for 14.1 are HERE.

Here is the applicable text:

4.5 Shots Required to Be Called
Shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot. The shooter may call “safety” in which case play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot and any object ball pocketed on the safety is spotted.

It's not explicit, but you can call either a ball or a safe but not both.

What is the most common rules to use in 14.1?

BCA?
WPA?

Or are they standardized and both sets of rules are the same?
 
What is the most common rules to use in 14.1?

BCA?
WPA?

Or are they standardized and both sets of rules are the same?

They're the same. If you go to the BCA website, click on rules under "play pool" and open up the rules for straight pool what comes up is a PDF of the WPA rules.

These are the rules that are also referred to as the World Standardized Rules (WSR).
 
Back
Top