Rules question? {Safety after the break}

I guess I am blind. Regardless of calling safe or not the player used a solid to pot a stripe or was it a stripe to pot a solid on the opening shot. Either way that is illegal in BCA rulings for eight ball. Now that is a legal tactic in APA on the opening shot, but this is not APA. Plus the pre-calling of safe ultimately leaves this an OPEN TABLE regardless if one ball or 14 balls were made on the safety stroke.
 
Snap9 said:
I guess I am blind. Regardless of calling safe or not the player used a solid to pot a stripe or was it a stripe to pot a solid on the opening shot. Either way that is illegal in BCA rulings for eight ball.

this is exactly untrue.

4.9 OPEN TABLE
(Defined) The table is "open" when the choice of groups (stripes or solids) has not yet been determined. When the table is open, it is legal to hit a solid first to make a stripe or vice-versa. Note: The table is always open immediately after the break shot. When the table is open, it is legal to hit any solid or stripe first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, it is a foul and no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter. The shooter loses his turn; the incoming player is awarded cue ball in hand; any balls pocketed remain pocketed; and the incoming player addresses the balls with the table still open. On an open table, all illegally pocketed balls remain pocketed.

read the rules. sheesh.

-s
 
Snap9 said:
I guess I am blind. Regardless of calling safe or not the player used a solid to pot a stripe or was it a stripe to pot a solid on the opening shot. Either way that is illegal in BCA rulings for eight ball.......

What colour is the sky on the planet where you play 8 ball with a rule that dictates that on the first shot after the break shot the table isn't open?:rolleyes: :)
 
- - - BCA Rule - - -

Why call a "safety" in the first place?

I think the shot is legal (almost like trying to pocket an object ball, but something goes wrong and accidentally hits the other ball and pockets it.). It usually happens when you are trying to squeeze in the object ball when the pocket is slightly blocked by your opponent's ball.

The shooter will just lose his turn, correct?

If you are going to CLEARLY(the shooter is not even trying to select a group) lose your turn why call a "safety" because it just doesn't make sense.

EDITED: dang, I just read on the internet that in some bars, combination using 8 in combo, stripe-to-solid or solid-to-stripe is legal when selecting a group because as you know it the table is open, so everything is neutral. damn-it-damn-it-damn-it
 
Last edited:
I think some people really need to think before they hit enter on these posts. This thread is dead and gone. If you go back to the first page, post #2 you will find the answer to the question in post#1. If you are still confused you may continue reading and learn a little more behind the answer.

BVal
 
BVal said:
I think some people really need to think before they hit enter on these posts. This thread is dead and gone. If you go back to the first page, post #2 you will find the answer to the question in post#1. If you are still confused you may continue reading and learn a little more behind the answer.

BVal

BVal, my question now is a little different because the word "safety" in the title doesn't make sense. Why call a safety on a turn that you're gonna lose?

Because if you snookered me, I will gladly give it back to you.
 
crosseyedjoe said:
BVal, my question now is a little different because the word "safety" in the title doesn't make sense. Why call a safety on a turn that you're gonna lose?

Because if you snookered me, I will gladly give it back to you.

The reason you call a safety on a turn you are going to lose is because you either have to call a pocket or a safety. In this case you do not have the option to return the shot if you are snookered. That is a completely different game (9-ball) and a completely different term (push-out). In this case the player A broke and didn't make anything. Open table. Player B got up and for whatever reason didn't like the lay out and called a safety. He shot at a solid that happened to hit a stripe and the stripe happened to go in. He did not call the ball in the pocket therefore it was not a legally pocketed ball. It was in fact a legal shot though. Table is still open and you have to play the cue ball from where it is. No option of giving it back - no ball in hand and the table is still open with one less stripe on the table than solid.

BVal
 
BVal said:
He shot at a solid that happened to hit a stripe and the stripe happened to go in. He did not call the ball in the pocket therefore it was not a legally pocketed ball.
BVal
My bad...I was under the impression that the stripe landed in the intended and called pocket.
 
Back
Top