Happened last night in my weekly tournament (which I won again, making it 5 wins one 2nd place in 8 weeks, wheee!, pat on back.) 9-ball. 8 is in the jaws, player miscues, hits both points without touching the 8-ball, the 8-ball drops in the pocket due to the table vibrations.
Now I know if this happened before the shot, it would be spotted up and play continues as normal. After the shot, does it stay down or get spotted? We pretty much agreed it was a foul and oponents gets ball in hand, but does the 8 stay down? I'm not sure if the rule of "all balls stay down on a foul" would apply here as the rule of a ball dropping without contact could also apply.
For the record, since we were not tottaly sure of the rulling, although we all pretty much agreed it was a foul, they 2 guys decided to play the rack over, which IMHO was the correct call in this case.
What if the cueball hit one point, the 8 fell in, then the cueball went through the empty space where the 8 used to be, thus fouling? Is that a foul or is the fact that the cueball "would have" hit the 8 if it did not drop make it a good hit, in a way?
Now I know if this happened before the shot, it would be spotted up and play continues as normal. After the shot, does it stay down or get spotted? We pretty much agreed it was a foul and oponents gets ball in hand, but does the 8 stay down? I'm not sure if the rule of "all balls stay down on a foul" would apply here as the rule of a ball dropping without contact could also apply.
For the record, since we were not tottaly sure of the rulling, although we all pretty much agreed it was a foul, they 2 guys decided to play the rack over, which IMHO was the correct call in this case.
What if the cueball hit one point, the 8 fell in, then the cueball went through the empty space where the 8 used to be, thus fouling? Is that a foul or is the fact that the cueball "would have" hit the 8 if it did not drop make it a good hit, in a way?