Rules question

fiftyyardline

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
This came up in a match today. Situation: opponent makes a ball - than about ten seconds later while surveying the table, he inadvertently brushes an object ball with his hand. Playing all ball fouls, we both understood this to be a foul - minus one point. But then the question was: does the ball he made ten seconds earlier count or get spotted (one point for ball, then minus one point for foul or spot and just minus one). Any opinions?
 
The previous shot has been completed and the ball counts. Just minus one.
Specifically, all balls had come to a stop and no ball was on the brink of a pocket for less than five seconds after all balls had come to a stop. At that point the previous shot was over. The player actually fouled between shots.
 
Also, I think the opponent can decide if continuing as the balls lie or replace the ball where it was. So I'd add that it's -1 for the shooter and the opponent can decide if ball is to be replaced to its original position or leave it in the pocket. I don't think the the ball is spotted in any circumstances.
 
The ball previously made would stay down and the point counted. When the object ball was moved, that player loses his turn and a point for the foul. Additionally, the opponent gets to decide whether the person who fouled should put the ball back to its original position or leave it where it stands.
 
Back
Top