Rules question

overlord

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Was playing some one pocket and my opponent shot a ball at his pocket. The ball glanced off balls already in his pocket and left the table.

It obviously was a drop pocket.

I called it as a foul and he maintained it was pocketed and kept on shooting.

I've never had this come up before in One Pocket.

I thought it's incumbent on the player to remove balls from his pocket so this doesn't happen.
 
Balls can leave the table and remain in the pocket--good shot
Balls can leave the table and remain out of the pocket--foul

It all depends on where the ball stops moving.
 
Was playing some one pocket and my opponent shot a ball at his pocket. The ball glanced off balls already in his pocket and left the table.

It obviously was a drop pocket.

I called it as a foul and he maintained it was pocketed and kept on shooting.

I've never had this come up before in One Pocket.

I thought it's incumbent on the player to remove balls from his pocket so this doesn't happen.
In the old days, sending an object ball onto the floor was not a foul. It has been a foul by the standard rules of pool since about 1990.

A ball that goes onto the floor for whatever reason is not considered pocketed, normally. In very recent times, some organizers have forbidden sending a ball that is hung in your opponent's pocket off the table to avoid it being pocketed. That depends on the organizer. A ball that you clear from the opponent's pocket by driving it off the table might be considered pocketed. Ask before the shot.

Your opponent was making a pretty nasty move, maybe. It's possible he is just ignorant. I guess you have to have a rules discussion with him.
 
In the old days, sending an object ball onto the floor was not a foul. It has been a foul by the standard rules of pool since about 1990.

A ball that goes onto the floor for whatever reason is not considered pocketed, normally. In very recent times, some organizers have forbidden sending a ball that is hung in your opponent's pocket off the table to avoid it being pocketed. That depends on the organizer. A ball that you clear from the opponent's pocket by driving it off the table might be considered pocketed. Ask before the shot.

Your opponent was making a pretty nasty move, maybe. It's possible he is just ignorant. I guess you have to have a rules discussion with him.
Thx for your reply, I had to let it go because he was making a big deal about it.
 
Back
Top