Rules question

overlord

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Was playing some one pocket and my opponent shot a ball at his pocket. The ball glanced off balls already in his pocket and left the table.

It obviously was a drop pocket.

I called it as a foul and he maintained it was pocketed and kept on shooting.

I've never had this come up before in One Pocket.

I thought it's incumbent on the player to remove balls from his pocket so this doesn't happen.
 
Balls can leave the table and remain in the pocket--good shot
Balls can leave the table and remain out of the pocket--foul

It all depends on where the ball stops moving.
 
Was playing some one pocket and my opponent shot a ball at his pocket. The ball glanced off balls already in his pocket and left the table.

It obviously was a drop pocket.

I called it as a foul and he maintained it was pocketed and kept on shooting.

I've never had this come up before in One Pocket.

I thought it's incumbent on the player to remove balls from his pocket so this doesn't happen.
In the old days, sending an object ball onto the floor was not a foul. It has been a foul by the standard rules of pool since about 1990.

A ball that goes onto the floor for whatever reason is not considered pocketed, normally. In very recent times, some organizers have forbidden sending a ball that is hung in your opponent's pocket off the table to avoid it being pocketed. That depends on the organizer. A ball that you clear from the opponent's pocket by driving it off the table might be considered pocketed. Ask before the shot.

Your opponent was making a pretty nasty move, maybe. It's possible he is just ignorant. I guess you have to have a rules discussion with him.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
In the old days, sending an object ball onto the floor was not a foul. It has been a foul by the standard rules of pool since about 1990.

A ball that goes onto the floor for whatever reason is not considered pocketed, normally. In very recent times, some organizers have forbidden sending a ball that is hung in your opponent's pocket off the table to avoid it being pocketed. That depends on the organizer. A ball that you clear from the opponent's pocket by driving it off the table might be considered pocketed. Ask before the shot.

Your opponent was making a pretty nasty move, maybe. It's possible he is just ignorant. I guess you have to have a rules discussion with him.
Thx for your reply, I had to let it go because he was making a big deal about it.
 
"I thought it's incumbent on the player to remove balls from his pocket so this doesn't happen."

Right, in any game - if the pocket you're shooting at is full of balls and you try to get one more to fit, it's on you.

(Of course, the situation determines how you want to actually handle it.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
It's a foul, it is up to the player to clear the pocket of balls if needed.

A funny story about a similar situation that happened to me years ago at a tournament in a pool hall that was not very well maintained. They had leather pockets, and they were too low, so if you shoot at some tables at a decent speed, the ball would just fly off the table over the pocket instead of hitting the back of pocket and go in. After I saw it happen a few times, I went to my car to get a screwdriver to fix the pockets, and one of the guys yelled at me to "stop fixing the tables" LOL His reasoning was that the tournament needs to be run on the equipment as is, and that fixing an issue was cheating LOL. However, some players at a table had a bit better thinking and reasoning and asked me to fix the pocket on the table they were at, so I was able to get the equipment to actually function properly.
 
Was playing some one pocket and my opponent shot a ball at his pocket. The ball glanced off balls already in his pocket and left the table.

It obviously was a drop pocket.

I called it as a foul and he maintained it was pocketed and kept on shooting.

I've never had this come up before in One Pocket.

I thought it's incumbent on the player to remove balls from his pocket so this doesn't happen.
A couple years ago I was playing in a 8 ball warm up tournament for Vegas. My opponent cleanly made the 8 ball in the corner pocket & the table spit it right back out. By the letter of the law rules it was my shot. I chose to give my opponent the game & play on as it was no fault of his own that the 8 ball didn't stay down.

In your situation I would have a little discussion with my opponent that this time he gets a pass. From here on though he had better clear his pocket because if it happens again the ball leaving the table will result in a foul as the rules state.
 
A couple years ago I was playing in a 8 ball warm up tournament for Vegas. My opponent cleanly made the 8 ball in the corner pocket & the table spit it right back out. By the letter of the law rules it was my shot. I chose to give my opponent the game & play on as it was no fault of his own that the 8 ball didn't stay down.

In your situation I would have a little discussion with my opponent that this time he gets a pass. From here on though he had better clear his pocket because if it happens again the ball leaving the table will result in a foul as the rules state.
It wasn’t just the letter of the law….it’s the spirit of the law also.
 
there are poolroom rules and rule book rules. both are different.

in the poolroom if you have a dispute over a rule you have to decide if its worth him quitting and never playing you again to prove your point to him. there is a difference in cheating or both thinking they are right.
 
Back
Top