safety question

driven

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
My opponent plays a safety by rolling up on a ball that is very close to a rail.
I return the favor. Now he plays the same shot and has played safe to the same rail twice. after I touch it again we have both played 2 safetys to the same rail, on the same ball.
As of now there have been no fouls.
Now we understand the rule is he now has to play to a different rail. In doing so he plays it a little weak and the cue comes up short, no rail-foul.
Is this considered his first foul, or should it be treated as a 3 foul rule, 15 point deduction?
thx
steven
 
I don't see why it would be anything but the first foul. It may be an unusual situation, but still, like you said, no fouls were committed before that shot to the other rail.
 
bluepepper said:
I don't see why it would be anything but the first foul. It may be an unusual situation, but still, like you said, no fouls were committed before that shot to the other rail.


I agree. If it's the first foul then it couldn't be anything else. That would be pretty rough hitting him with a 3 foul rule if he only has one foul. And on top of that what happens when you get back to the table? What if you somehow commit a foul? If the 3 foul rule applied to his situation then it would have to apply to yours too because you both were doing the exact same thing.
MULLY
 
Thought I'd give this question a bump, and a thought.

I don't know the answer for sure, but I recall vaguely, in the Accu-stats 14.1 "player review" match between Grady Mathews and Pat Fleming, that they had a very similar situation. I also seem to recall Pat mentioning the third saftey to the same rail was a re-rack.

I can't find anything specific about it in the rules, but there again, I always seem to be looking in the wrong set of rules. :D ..... so bump!
 
driven said:
My opponent plays a safety by rolling up on a ball that is very close to a rail.
I return the favor. Now he plays the same shot and has played safe to the same rail twice. after I touch it again we have both played 2 safetys to the same rail, on the same ball.
As of now there have been no fouls.
Now we understand the rule is he now has to play to a different rail. In doing so he plays it a little weak and the cue comes up short, no rail-foul.

thx
steven


As another mentioned, that rule has been changed and he does not have to play to a different rail.
 
dmgwalsh said:
As another mentioned, that rule has been changed and he does not have to play to a different rail.

What rulebook is this one in? unless I missed it the bca rules Juggler refered to does not mention it.

Also, from what I have read I have to assume we played it correctly, foul, 1 point deduction.
thx
steven
 
driven said:
What rulebook is this one in? unless I missed it the bca rules Juggler refered to does not mention it.

Also, from what I have read I have to assume we played it correctly, foul, 1 point deduction.
thx
steven

http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?co...les_tournament

he BCA is slow to update their old website. The new BCA website, www.GenerationPool.com, has the new rules but they have left out some of the less interesting ones and have left off the numbers. Sigh.
__________________
Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy

Thread on same issue: http://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=92550&highlight=rail+nurse
 
Back
Top