Quick question:
I play in Korea, and a lot of the tournaments are rack your own. However, if you do rack your own, there are a couple of conditions. The first is that a 9 ball or 10 ball on the break is re-spotted. No issues with that one. The second is that if, after the break, the 9 ball ends up near either of the two corner pockets near the rack, it gets spotted on the head spot. The term 'near' is defined by the square created by the two first diamonds on either side of the corner pockets.
Is this rule played anywhere else in the world? And, if so, how is the one diamond square defined?
To be more specific, in snooker and English billiards a ball is only considered to be behind the line if the actual contact point of the ball on the table is on the line, or behind the line. So, if the edge of a ball is hanging over the line, but the contact point with the table is not touching the line, the ball is deemed as not being in the defined area, or behind the line.
If anyone has played with this self-rack rule regarding the 9 ball stopping within one diamond of the two corner pockets near the rack, how would you define this area in American pool?
To give some more context to the question, I was recently playing in the final of a tournament, self-rack. I broke and scratched. The one ball got bumped back near the head spot. The 9 ball ended up near the first diamond by one of the bottom corner pockets. The most horizontal edge of the 9 ball was hanging over the first diamond, but the actual contact point of the ball with the table was clearly outside the first diamond. A discussion ensued, and apparently in Korea the contact point with the table doesn't matter, the floating edge of the ball touch the first diamond is close enough. The 9 ball was re-spotted, leaving a dead straight 1-9 combination for my opponent.
Thoughts? Aware?
I play in Korea, and a lot of the tournaments are rack your own. However, if you do rack your own, there are a couple of conditions. The first is that a 9 ball or 10 ball on the break is re-spotted. No issues with that one. The second is that if, after the break, the 9 ball ends up near either of the two corner pockets near the rack, it gets spotted on the head spot. The term 'near' is defined by the square created by the two first diamonds on either side of the corner pockets.
Is this rule played anywhere else in the world? And, if so, how is the one diamond square defined?
To be more specific, in snooker and English billiards a ball is only considered to be behind the line if the actual contact point of the ball on the table is on the line, or behind the line. So, if the edge of a ball is hanging over the line, but the contact point with the table is not touching the line, the ball is deemed as not being in the defined area, or behind the line.
If anyone has played with this self-rack rule regarding the 9 ball stopping within one diamond of the two corner pockets near the rack, how would you define this area in American pool?
To give some more context to the question, I was recently playing in the final of a tournament, self-rack. I broke and scratched. The one ball got bumped back near the head spot. The 9 ball ended up near the first diamond by one of the bottom corner pockets. The most horizontal edge of the 9 ball was hanging over the first diamond, but the actual contact point of the ball with the table was clearly outside the first diamond. A discussion ensued, and apparently in Korea the contact point with the table doesn't matter, the floating edge of the ball touch the first diamond is close enough. The 9 ball was re-spotted, leaving a dead straight 1-9 combination for my opponent.
Thoughts? Aware?