Dhakala said:It was not a foul because the referee was able to positively determine that it was a legal shot - that is, not a push or double-hit. Therefor, the guidance that may apply if the ref is not positive is irrelevant.
The ref controls the call. The guidance does not control the ref. Guidance is not a WPA rule, nor is it a law of nature.
In this particular shot, the CB approached and rebounded off the OB at precisely the angles that I would expect based upon the balls' original positions, the direction in which the CB was shot, and the low-inside English applied. The cue tip went left, the cue ball went right. They never met a second time. There was no foul, as one commentator correctly corrected the other.
Once again David, the cue ball did not "rebound". It squirted off to the side, from the pressure of being squeezed between the cue tip and the object ball.