Strange 8-ball rules question

cshots

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
This happened to a friend of mine on Saturday.

My friend breaks and drops a few balls. Looks over the table, shoots a ball in. Scans the table again only to notice the 8-ball is gone. Now I, along with a few other people were wondering what the proper ruling on this is.

In this situation, the touney director spotted the 8, put the object and cueball as close as possible to their original positions, and my friend kept shooting. BTW, they were playing under BCA rules. thanx
 
Huh?
Pocketing the 8 on the break is not a win or a loss.
Breaker has optio to spot the 8 or re-rack iirc.
Since the other player did not protest the 8-ball not coming back in, I believe the 8 gets spotted and the table is left alone.
There is no such thing as putting the balls back to where they were, I believe.
 
i think, unless the 8 ball would have impeded the path of the cue ball or the object ball he shot in, they should have just spotted the 8 ball and called it good.
 
cshots said:
This happened to a friend of mine on Saturday.

My friend breaks and drops a few balls. Looks over the table, shoots a ball in. Scans the table again only to notice the 8-ball is gone. Now I, along with a few other people were wondering what the proper ruling on this is.

In this situation, the touney director spotted the 8, put the object and cueball as close as possible to their original positions, and my friend kept shooting. BTW, they were playing under BCA rules. thanx
My first instinct would be to say your friend won the game. I find it kind of odd that the TD would spot the 8 ball and the ball your friend hit in after the break. You might as well replay the whole rack at that point.

BVal
 
cshots said:
This happened to a friend of mine on Saturday.

My friend breaks and drops a few balls. Looks over the table, shoots a ball in. Scans the table again only to notice the 8-ball is gone. Now I, along with a few other people were wondering what the proper ruling on this is.

In this situation, the touney director spotted the 8, put the object and cueball as close as possible to their original positions, and my friend kept shooting. BTW, they were playing under BCA rules. thanx


Although I don't think what the referee did was bad, I personally would have leaned toward having the entire rack replayed since more than one ball had already left the table. IMO, if the entire game is in question and more than one ball has been removed, you either rule win/lose/rerack but never restore. In this instance, since it wouldn't be fair to rule win or lose, I would rule rerack.
 
Did anyone know that the eight ball didn't fall on the second or third shot? Maybe it was an early loss of game.
 
dabarbr said:
Did anyone know that the eight ball didn't fall on the second or third shot? Maybe it was an early loss of game.
The 8 ball fell in on the break. From what I understand the person broke and made a few balls. He scanned the table over then took his first shot after the break and made a ball. Then noticed the 8 ball was gone - so it could have only fallen on the break.

BVal
 
BVal said:
The 8 ball fell in on the break. From what I understand the person broke and made a few balls. He scanned the table over then took his first shot after the break and made a ball. Then noticed the 8 ball was gone - so it could have only fallen on the break.

BVal
You're correct. I just reread the post. However he did make one ball. Maybe it was with speed and moved a lot of balls and the eight went in on that shot. If it went in on the break, then they should have reracked. I think he lost the option to spot the eight and continue shooting. Hard call.
 
JoeyInCali said:
Pocketing the 8 on the break is not a win or a loss.

FWIW most bar-table rules (EG APA) force you to play the 8 on the break it as either a win or a loss becuase of course you can't respot a ball on a bar table. Any subsequant shots he made would therefore not matter, as long as both players are agreed that the 8 fell on the break.

However in this case it is under BCA rules, so therefore the 8 has to either be respotted or the rack re-broken. In that case the breaking player comitted a foul by continuing to play after his break shot was complete and before either spotting the 8 or re-racking:

"3.32 SPOTTING BALLS When specific game rules call for spotting balls, they shall be replaced on the table on the long string after the stroke is complete."

So the correct ruling IMHO is either BIH to the opponent, with the 8 spotted and the table still open (as it was a foul none of the subsequent shots by the breaker counted) or the balls re-racked and the break to the opponent. Sounds harsh I know but this is consistent with the G.P. that the current shooter has control of the table and is expected to know what is going on, and should be punished if not.
 
Back
Top