Stupid boredom rule question #2

skor

missing shots since 1995
Silver Member
In 8ball by WPA/BCA rules

On the break - all the solids are pocketed, are you playing on the 8ball or do you have to take the stripes now?
 
Yes, open table.... can you shoot the 8 on an open table?
 
Yes, open table.... can you shoot the 8 on an open table?

I don't think so...

In essence, you have not really started on the Solids, right?

Hint: But you can miss the Stripes, so in essence, it is still Open... ;)
 
Hint: But you can miss the Stripes, so in essence, it is still Open... ;)

But then, a good player may run out. Or easily hook me if he gets into trouble, sure I can do the same and start with the stripes but I just made 7 solids.... :wink:
 
I'm not gonna dig around for the rules (I usually leave that for those with better computer skills), but surely, SURELY there is a provision in there that allows you to shoot the 8-ball for the win in this scenario. I have as yet to see a set of rules from ANY pool organization that covers ALL scenarios/situations in either black or white (re: no gray areas).

Maniac

P.S. I haven't completely read the latest/updated World Standardized Rules of Pool as of yet. I hope THEY got it right this time.
 
BCA/WS Rules
4.1 OBJECT OF THE GAME
Eight-Ball is a call shot game played with a cue ball and 15 object balls, numbered 1 through 15. One player must pocket balls of the group numbered 1 through 7 (solid colors), while the other player has 9 through 15 (stripes). The player pocketing either group first, and then legally pocketing the 8-ball wins the game.

4.19 PLAYING THE 8-BALL
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball, except when the 8-ball is the first ball contacted in the shot sequence.

The question begging to be asked, is.. does the 8 ball become a legal object ball at that point?

I think it does because.... One of the players is being forced to be on the eight. Either by the breaker taking stripes, there by forcing the other player to be on the eight. What is legal for one player must be legal for the other. Therefore, the breaker has the choice of being forced on the eight.

Just my opinion.
 
All the solids were pocketed on the break. The table remains open until someone make a leagal shot to determine who has what group. The first shot after the break is always to an open table. You cannot shoot the eight ball on an open table (or first contact at any time for that matter).

Since no group has be determined, the table is open, therefore, in this case, the shooter must shoot the stripes.

Seems kind of like a penalty, but thems the rules:).

L8R...Ken
 
Back
Top