IF you?re playing by current BCA Pool League rules and working with the information given, the rules are clear:
1.33 Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only) (AR)
1. It is not a foul to accidentally touch or disturb a single object ball, with any part of your body, clothing or equipment, unless the accidental movement has an effect on the outcome of the shot. 31
2. "Effect on the outcome of the shot" means that either the disturbed ball makes contact with any ball set in motion as a result of the shot, or that the base of any ball set in motion as a result of the shot passes through the area originally occupied by the disturbed ball. That area is defined as a circle approximately seven inches in diameter centered on the position originally occupied by the disturbed ball (see Diagram 7).
3. If there is no effect on the outcome of the shot, your opponent has the option to leave the disturbed ball in position or restore it to its original location on the table. If the disturbed ball is to be restored, a referee may restore it, your opponent may restore it, or you may restore it with your opponent?s permission. If you touch or restore the disturbed ball without your opponent's permission it is a foul.
4. It is a foul if there is an effect on the outcome of the shot. Your opponent is awarded penalties in accordance with the General Rules and specific game rules and has no restoration option.
5. If you accidentally move a single object ball, and in the same shot commit a foul that is not related to the disturbed ball, your opponent is awarded the penalty for the foul and also has the restoration option for the disturbed ball that was not involved in the foul.
6. If a disturbed ball falls into a pocket with no effect on the outcome of the shot, your opponent has the restoration option. However, if the disturbed ball is designated by specific game rules as the game winning ball, it must be restored.
7. It is a foul if you disturb more than one object ball.
8. It is a foul if a disturbed ball contacts any other ball.
GENERAL RULES
Also:
General Discussion: ?Outcome of the shot? is considered to only mean the action of the balls on the table as a result of the immediate shot, and has no relation to the ending position of the table or any effect the ending position may have on the desires, strategy or intentions of the offended player.
The effect of the above statement is that, while extremely rare, it is possible that a foul may be committed under Rule 1.33.4 that results in the offended player being left in an undesirable position. While considering the effects of the rule, the BCAPL decided that the possibility of such an event was outweighed by the offended player (in most games) having ball in hand and the strategic advantages that are inherent with it.
If it can be determined that an offending player deliberately created a situation that was detrimental to the offended player by abusing the provisions of Rule 1.33.4, it may be considered to be unsportsmanlike conduct and the offended player may be awarded a remedy to counteract the offense.
1. Situation: Player A accidentally moves an object ball while establishing their bridge. Then, while standing up off the shot to resolve the situation, Player A again accidentally touches or moves the same object ball.
Ruling: (a) The second or subsequent accidental touches are considered to be a single act. Player B may elect options in accordance with Rule 1.33.3.
2. Situation: Player A accidentally disturbs an object ball and, while the disturbed ball is still in motion, touches it or picks it up to replace it.
Ruling: Foul. In addition, it is a violation of Rule 1.40(c). Penalties in accordance with Rule 1.33.3, 1.40 and specific game rules. The disturbed ball must be restored.