what is the rule

r.roach@att.net

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
playing eight ball. cue ball fouls only. instead of shooting the cue ball into the object ball, I mistakenly use the nine ball as the cue ball and pocket the object ball. are the nine ball and object balls put back in original spots and opponent shoots from where the cue ball is?
 
my opinion would be that if both players can hopefully agree on where the balls were placed, you could respot them and continue the game with the cue ball. The thing I am not sure about is that you actually stroked a shot using the tip. I still don't think it's a foul, ball in hand for the other player, but, if the game is clearly not in a favor to one player, maybe a re rack and start over. This is a interesting situation as I am hoping a VNEA ref or official sees this post and gives a ruling.
 
playing eight ball. cue ball fouls only. instead of shooting the cue ball into the object ball, I mistakenly use the nine ball as the cue ball and pocket the object ball. are the nine ball and object balls put back in original spots and opponent shoots from where the cue ball is?

I would call everything stays where it is, and the other guy gets ball in hand. Even if the game is cueball fouls only, that is for incidental contact, not actually hitting a ball with your cue and pocketing a ball illegally.
 
If you mistakenly use the nine ball as the cue ball, you should be be beaten about the head and neck with your cue. I think that is a BCA rule.
 
I would call everything stays where it is, and the other guy gets ball in hand. Even if the game is cueball fouls only, that is for incidental contact, not actually hitting a ball with your cue and pocketing a ball illegally.

This is what I would think.
 
With cue ball fouls only it is a foul to move more than one object ball. Ball in hand and balls stay where they are.
 
As far as VNEA is concerned, incidental contact that results in an object ball being pocketed or leaving the field of play is a foul. Incoming player has the option of having the object balls replaced where they originally lied or leaving them in place. Ball in hand for the for your opponent.
 
With cue ball fouls only it is a foul to move more than one object ball. Ball in hand and balls stay where they are.
The "more than one ball moved" rule is only in some rule sets. Mostly, I've seen it for one pocket.
 
With cue ball fouls only it is a foul to move more than one object ball. Ball in hand and balls stay where they are.

Shouldn't the opponent have the option to replace the balls? You wouldn't want the fouling player to gain an advantage from this based on where all the balls come to rest; the opponent should get to put them back if that occurs.

-Andrew
 
Shouldn't the opponent have the option to replace the balls? You wouldn't want the fouling player to gain an advantage from this based on where all the balls come to rest; the opponent should get to put them back if that occurs.

-Andrew
As Bob pointed out it really depends on the rule set. My experience is with the BCAPL rules, which most of our local tournaments have adopted. BCAPL calls for the balls to stay.

2014-2016
Official Rules of
CueSports
International
Used by the BCAPL and the USAPL


1-33 Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only) (AR p. 91)

7. It is a foul if:

a. you disturb the cue ball;
b. you disturb more than one object ball;
c. a disturbed ball contacts any other ball;
d. you disturb a ball that is in motion.

Your opponent has no restoration option.
 
As Bob pointed out it really depends on the rule set. My experience is with the BCAPL rules, which most of our local tournaments have adopted. BCAPL calls for the balls to stay.

2014-2016
Official Rules of
CueSports
International
Used by the BCAPL and the USAPL


1-33 Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only) (AR p. 91)

7. It is a foul if:

a. you disturb the cue ball;
b. you disturb more than one object ball;
c. a disturbed ball contacts any other ball;
d. you disturb a ball that is in motion.

Your opponent has no restoration option.


I primarily play BCAPL, so this would be my ruling.

My question to this scenario, was his opponent sleeping? Why didn't he speak up while the player was getting down to shoot the 9 ball? :confused:
 
... My question to this scenario, was his opponent sleeping? Why didn't he speak up while the player was getting down to shoot the 9 ball? :confused:
Lately some of my opponents have been too busy with thumb exercises on their telephones to notice what's happening on the table.:frown:

"Was that a good safe?" I've avoided the temptation to say, "Watch next time."
 
With cue ball fouls only it is a foul to move more than one object ball. Ball in hand and balls stay where they are.

So I could walk around the table and fire object balls directly into pockets, one at a time, and then shoot the game ball normally and I wouldn't have fouled? I'm going to try that and see how far I get during my next game.
 
I primarily play BCAPL, so this would be my ruling.

My question to this scenario, was his opponent sleeping? Why didn't he speak up while the player was getting down to shoot the 9 ball? :confused:

I would not be so presumptuous as to coach my opponent. I know you can not coach your partner but not sure on giving coaching to the opponent.:sorry:
 
Back
Top